Going deep to say hello.

Hello there!

Well, I’ve been pacing up and down the room to avoid writing this, my very first blog story. Why? Because I’m scared to bits. I was over the moon when I announced to you that I was beginning this next journey, but yesterday, all I thought was ‘what have I done? I can’t back out of it now.’

You see, it’s quite a different feel from adding words to an instagram post. Over there, I couldn’t always be sure if people apppreciated the photo or my words..whereas here, it’s predominantly about my words, my story. Those niggly thoughts fly into your head such as ‘who really wants to hear what I have to say?’ and ‘who am I to put myself out there?’ Not to mention the good old ‘what will people think, especially those who have seem me in one particular light?’

This is truly extending me out of my comfort zone- it’s something we hear we must do in order to move forward in life. But it’s also greater and more beautiful than that.

For me now, it’s an evolution of revealing myself like I couldn’t do before.

To earn the golden ticket meant I had to front up and appear perfect, like I had everything under control, to be the person my parents wanted me to be. Whilst at the same time, I was so aware of my inadequacies that were always highlighted to me from others. Consequently, I tried even harder to hide them.

In doing so, this still didn’t appear to make me ‘perfect’ and thus began a very long struggle with self-confidence and self-acceptance.

Being a quiet personality, it’s always been a challenge to say what is on my mind. May I rewrite that as ‘to express what’s in my heart…’. I’ve been accused of going too deep and over thinking everything. I’d look around me at people who could make fun of themselves, tease people in jest, put themselves out there, keep up to date with the occurrences of the world…not me. I’d ask myself repeatedly why it was so easy for them? I spent a lot of time alone as a teenager watching people and simply thinking…simply being. Most likely about where I fitted in to the world and what was my purpose.

So after a long time of feeling this way, there are things I’ve learnt about over this journey called my life that have brought me to this point. I’m actually feeling quite proud of myself. I’ll not go into it here…I’ll spare you the detail today!

We all have stories and our unique way of adding value to the world. Since beginning photography classes, I uncovered purely through listening to my heart in my quiet moments, that this is the platform through which I can add my value to the world, or at least that is my utmost intention and heartfelt wish. I have come to adore writing my thoughts and feelings down and if many of you hadn’t been as encouraging as you were, I’d have pulled my head back under my shell.

So it’s with a heartfelt thank you to you all for allowing me the space to dip my toes in the water and discover this side of me that I’d always secretly desired, but had no clue as to how I’d arrive at expressing myself through words.

I’d really like establish some things between you and me about things I might say in my blog…

🌟As a consequence of being real, raw and authentic, which is my goal always here, I may add some things that sound like I’m putting myself down. Please, in no way is this to incite compliments or any kind of comfort. I’m ok with the way I am now and I’ll intend to show you where I’ve been in order for you to see where I am and where I’m heading. Goodness knows I heard that line from a very young age at school if I said something nice about someone..’you’re just fishing for compliments!’ Lines such as this are, in my mind, utterly destructive, and had me avoid anything that would give people ammunition to shower me with that phrase.

🌟Being real about the things we feel are our greatest traits is not bragging. We are not alluding to the fact we are better than others when we do this. In fact, it’s much worse to be underplaying your gifts in order to appear modest. There’s quite the fine line to juggle here..

It’s taken a long time to overcome that fear, and you know the thing that has allowed me to reach this milestone? What everything can be reduced to… LOVE.

Love for myself and a realisation that I just love people. So doing what I can to make sure no one who knows me or comments on social media ever feels unworthy or unwanted is my motivation for being kind and saying pleasant things to people. That’s it…It’s that simple now…and I’m going to keep doing it.

🌟I think these are the stories I really wanted to share with you as a first post. And you know what? It’s been an amazing feeling to be real, honest and not try to hide anything. I’ve actually enjoyed writing this, being brave…being raw…and all it took was…

that first word… that first step.

All I have to offer is my side of the story and I’ll never intend to belittle a different way of looking at life… but this is all I’ve got to offer…my view. I truly hope it may resonate with you along the way.

If you have something inside your heart that you are waiting to share… I ask you this- how will you feel if you get to the end of your life and you didn’t share your gifts, your dreams, your means of expressing yourself? Those things inside your heart that you can feel joy just by thinking about them?

There are so many reasons why you need to share those things that ignite your fire
and it’s my intention to explore these here with you.

Please, I’d love t hear what you think. But this is along the lines of what my blog is about….and you will always be welcome to use this as way of taking your first step in expressing yourself, should you choose to. I’d be honoured if you did.

Thank you. I’m glad you’re here.

Love to you from Di ❀

 

63 thoughts on “Going deep to say hello.

  1. Thank you a lot for shar­ing this with all folks you really know what you are talk­ing about! Book­marked. Kindly adaliΒ­tΓ‚on­dily con­sult with my web site =). We will have a link exchange arrange­ment between us

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Welcome Di, and enjoy blogging, you seek to be a positive and ready for challenges kind of person, so give it your best and never stop, regardless of what anyone else may say.
    You see this blog is you so what you wish to share and how you wish to share should be all you, that’s what makes an authentic and an original blog.

    Welcome onboard and enjoy the journey of blogging.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Simply-meπŸ™‹
      I just want to thank you so much for your kind encouragement, welcome and words of advice. I shall most certainly keep them in mind on those days when I doubt myself (already had those!!) and when it seems all a challenge.
      I really value and appreciate your words. Thank you sincerely again β€πŸ¦‹

      Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s actually a nice and helpful piece of info. I’m glad that you simply
    shared this helpful info with us. Please stay us
    informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

    1. That’s so lovely, DebbieπŸ’. Thank you so much. It seems like we are on a similar path of spreading the self acceptance message. Funny how we find the people we are meant to. Glad and grateful for our connection. Hugs to you, Di πŸ¦‹πŸ’•πŸ¦‹

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Beautifully written. I just love this ‘I’m ok with the way I am now and I’ll intend to show you where I’ve been in order for you to see where I am and where I’m heading’

    Well said. I look forward to following along in your journey!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That means so much coming from you, Flying through water. Thank you so much for reading my first post and then to leave an encouraging comment. I really appreciate it 🌟🌟🌹

      Like

  5. Hello Di! Welcome to blogging! 😊 Oh my, your first post reminded me of when I was writing and about to publish my very first post too! I was quite nervous yet excited too! 😊 But I’m glad that I did because many people here are very supportive and friendly.
    I like what you wrote about being real not tantamount to bragging. Sometimes we have the tendency to false humility simply because we do not want to be misinterpreted as bragging or proud, but that should not be a hinder for us to be real to who we truly are! ☺

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello again Nina! Thank you sincerely for visiting and reading my first post. I really appreciate it so much. And I am very grateful to you for seeing my point about not wanting to ‘brag’. It’s such a balancing act but if it’s for the good of the story to inspire others, well I believe it’s a necessary thing. I’m touched you understood that too. Thank you again Nina and I’m looking forward to this new journey together πŸŒŸπŸ’•

      Liked by 1 person

  6. This iss a topic that iss close tto my heart… Cheers!
    Exactly wheree arre yor contacct details though?
    Itts sucdh ass yyou rezd myy thoughts! You appear too understand a lott appproximately this, suxh as youu wote tthe guide iin itt or something.

    I belikeve that youu jut ccan ddo with some psrcent too pressure the messagge homne a bit, howevger ihstead oof that, hat iss wondergul blog.

    A fantastic read. I will definnitely be back. I could noot esist
    commenting. Perfedctly written! http://cspan.co.uk

    Like

    1. Hello Jimmy,
      Thank you so much for leaving your kind comments.
      I’m sorry it has taken so long to reply, but your comment didn’t show up in my notifications… it was lucky I saw it now and I’m glad I did.
      I really appreciate you stopping by and I hope this message finds its way back to you safely.

      Warm regards from Di

      Like

    1. Thank you so much Watching the daisies. Yes, I’m super new so thank you so much for your kind welcome. That’s really lovely. And I’m enjoying this journey alreadyπŸ™‚ It’s been brewing for quite a while and now I’ve taken the leap, it feels really liberating. ‘See’ you on yours or my post again soon 🌟🌺🌺

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh Di, congratulations on stepping out into your new and exciting adventure. I resonate so much with how you feel and have always felt. Like you, I just love people… full stop! It is so painful not knowing how to express our deep hearted feelings, repressing our love for fear of being misunderstood, but you are doing it and I can’t wait to be a witness to your blooming. I know that in sharing your journey, my own will be richly touched too, so THANK YOU for your courage to share. BIG HUGS and LOVE to you Di πŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸŒΉπŸ™xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello dear Carol. What beautifully touching feedback to my post. Thank you so much. And you have articulated my thoughts in your own stunning way. We are here for each other and support and encouragement are so life changing. So thank you sincerely my lovely friend. I’m touched you enjoyed it πŸ’œπŸ™πŸΌ

      Like

      1. You are so welcome Di and it is truly magnificent that we can support and encourage each other. By the way? I watched Tony Robbins “I am not your Guru”….yes, I needed the tissues lol…how wonderfully inspiring and moving it was. He truly is amazing and I can only imagine how life-changing it would be to participate in his “date with destiny”. Thank you for the recommendation Di πŸ‘πŸŒŸπŸŒΉxo

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hello again dear Carol! I knew you would understand that thought. It means a lot to both of us I think.
        And I’m so happy you enjoyed the doco of Tony. I watched half again last week and waiting to finish it. I should have warned you about the swearing thoughπŸ€”. Yes, his date with destiny would be a thrill to attend. Thank you again my friend πŸ™πŸΌβ€

        Like

  8. I loved it all, but the moment that resonated most to me was, “We all have stories and our unique way of adding value to the world.” This is such a wonderful way to describe what makes blogging so special, you’ve really nailed it. :)) And now you’ve joined the world of blogging!! Congrats to you, Di, for all you’re doing for yourself and in the meantime, for us, as you share all of your wonderful kindness, perspectives, and artistry with us. So great to have you here!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello dear PeggyπŸ‘‹πŸ½ That’s such a beautiful compliment and I truly am grateful to you and your kind, encouraging words. I’m so thrilled and proud to be part of a very special group. Thank you sincerely πŸ™πŸΌβ€

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Love Love Love! This is amazing Di! Congrats you did it!!!! That is howI felt when I first started. I’m so excited for you! You should enter a widget to “subscribe by email to the posts”. That way I can get each new post in your inbox. WP has an excellent tutorial and help platform to help you.

    So happy happy happy you are here!!!!

    Nicole

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hello my inspirational friend Nicole! Well, with your advice and kind encouragement yes, I did it. And I thank you so much. I’ll look into what a widget is and aim to enable that feature. Thank you and I’m so relieved you enjoyed this first post. Thank you again dear friend πŸ™πŸΌπŸ’•

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It was beautiful Di! Can hardly wait until the next ! Depending on your blog theme, here is where widget should be. Go to Admin- appearance- widgets. Then I when to available widgets and dragged the “follow blog ” one over to my sidebar/footer and customized it to say “follow thirdeyemom”. That is how I got the email subscriber icon!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That’s really sweet of you Nicole. I’ll do that this week. Thank you so much for your help and support here my friend. Encouragement goes a long way…. great idea for a post!! No, I’ve had that one in my head to do for a while πŸ™πŸΌβ€

        Liked by 1 person

    2. Hello again Nicole! I think I’ve managed to add email notification to the bottom of my blog. It took a bit of stubborn perseverence but I got there in the end. Thank you so much for the tip πŸ™πŸΌπŸ’•

      Like

  10. My goodness, Di! Due to work I was forced to put photography, IPA and Instagram on hold. I’m making a bit of a guest appearance before I submerge myself in academia again and what do I find? My wonderful friend Di has gone global!!! πŸ˜ŠπŸ‘πŸ»πŸ‘πŸ» Wishing you all the best, Di, with your new blogging (ad)venture!! πŸ’πŸ’πŸ˜˜

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much dear Susan. I’m thrilled to see your name pop up here and I’m touched by your kind words and support. All the best with your academia work and we shall see you on Instagram when you are able to post. Thank you again for stopping by to have a read during your busy time- I really appreciate it πŸ™πŸΌπŸ’•

      Like

  11. I resonate with everything you’ve written. And, you write so eloquently. Thank you for sharing your true, authentic self. I look forward with much anticipation to see what you write next. Blessings to you, Beautiful Di! ❀

    Like

    1. Hello lovely Edith! That’s so encouraging and supportive of you and it means so much. Thank you sincerely. You had a big part in getting me to this point… I hope you realise that. Thank you again my friend πŸ™πŸΌπŸ’œ

      Like

  12. Oh Di, you are such a brave woman and as I’ve said before, you really inspire me. I just read your blog and cried. But it was a good kind of cry, if that makes any sense at all. I am so thrilled that you’ve taken this first step and can’t wait to read more! You have such a gift with words; and I am truly happy to have connected with you on InstaGram of all places! (hehe, you can ignore my plea for help on your Insta page; I didn’t quite know how to get here but I figured it out finally! What a dork I am!!) You express sentiments that I believe most people can totally relate to but find difficult to write. Kudos to you, my dear friend!! Bravo on taking this first step!!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh Cynthia. Hello and just wow… I cannot tell you how much your heartfelt comments have meant to me. Don’t worry, I understand about good cries (all kinds actually) and to think I could move someone who felt like I have is overwhelming and so touching. It’s really all I’ve ever wanted to do because touching each other’s hearts and reaching out to comfort and support each other is all that matters in (my) life. I’m so glad you worked out how to find it and I was so happy to see you had been given help from Edward. Those little things mean a lot to me. Thank you again for your awesome love and support my friend πŸ™πŸΌπŸ’œπŸ’œ

      Like

      1. Thank you for just being you, dear Di. Really I appreciate your kindness more than you can imagine. You are just such a special lady, I count myself lucky to be amongst your friends. πŸ˜‰ ❀

        Btw I must be really bad at this because I cannot even "like" your reply to my comment, lolol!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hello and I can’t even use your name as it is coming up as ‘someone’. Is it you Cynthia? No you’re not bad at this at all. There are setting issues I’ll have to deal with my end so ‘it’s not you it’s me!’ Thank you for your lovely words though. They mean a lot πŸ™πŸΌβ€

        Like

  13. Good morning Di.I’m so surprised your up and running so quickly(It would have taken me months).Well done.
    What a wonderful start to your new blog.It must be so liberating writing down one’s thoughts and feelings.
    I look forward to your next post.
    Feel proud my dear friend.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hello dear Edward. That’s so gorgeous of you and I thank you so much. Well, the truth is that I’ve been a non-starter with a blog a couple of times. I’d signed up and never made the next move. So I’d read about how to begin, what to do etc.. as well as reading countless other blogs. So while the iron was hot, I struck! Your kind support means so much. I’m honoured to have you along for the journey together and will always value your feedback πŸ™πŸΌπŸŒŸπŸŒŸ

      Like

      1. Your welcome dear Di.I didn’t think my comment had appeared and I had no notification of your reply.I am quite unused to the world of blogs and I need your advice my friend.
        Thank you so much for your kind words.I feel very honoured to be on this journey with you and I’m sure you will teach me many things.
        I shall read your latest when I have more time as I’m travelling tomorrow.I want to give it my full attention.πŸ™‚πŸŒ

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hello my friend!
        That’s quite alright… I’m learning too! I’ve discovered there is a Spam folder where things seem to be ending up! Comments on other blogs have appeared in there from me too. Sorry to think you thought I didn’t reply to your lovely words… you know I always would.
        Thank you again.. you are so loyal and I can’t tell you how special that is to me πŸ™πŸΌπŸ™‹

        Like

  14. Many Congratulations. First post is as authentic, raw, direct as you always been so. Honestly I am very sure of your journey ahead…It will be fabulous. Something which emerges from heart always reaches the heart.
    I am fortunate to have you as friend. Best wishes and Enjoy !!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Dear Artofmobile. Hello and welcome! How exciting to have you here and to leave such a wonderfully supportive comment. I’m so blessed to have connected with you. You know how special you are. Thank you so much my friend πŸ™πŸΌπŸ’•

      Like

  15. First post, baby steps, self doubts and stepping out of our comfort zone. I can totally relate Di, we’ve all been there. But I have no doubt you’re going to love your time here. Congratulations again on taking this step and I’m so thrilled for you. Have fun, enjoy and I look forward to traveling with you on this amazing journey. xo

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m happy for you Di and so glad we were able to ‘meet’on Instagram first. So lovely to have already forged a connection. x P.S Glad you were finally able to find my comments! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I know you are dear Miriam. And I’m so grateful for that. And as you say, also for connecting on insta. I was determined to find them for you… the least I could do. Thank you again and enjoy your weekend my friend πŸ™πŸΌπŸ¦‹πŸŒ·

        Liked by 1 person

  16. We are so much alike! I’m happy for you and can’t wait to see what you write here! To be able to write and put your feelings on paper and feel good about it, it’s really the best thing ever isn’t it? πŸ’œπŸŒΉ

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hello Teresa! I’m so happy to have you add your lovely comment. I’m glad you can identify with what I’ve said. To know this is my greatest honour. You have given me a little boost of confidence. I thank you sincerely. I hope to ‘see’ you again here πŸ’•

      Like

  17. Di, You are off on an exciting adventure! I look forward to folllwing you on this journey. I can relate to a lot of what you say. Big hugs ❀❀

    Liz

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hello dear Liz. You don’t know what it means to have you take time to read my words. Thank you so so much and for your kind supportive feedback. I really hope I can speak for many of us, as I know I’ve found comfort in that from other sites and videos myself. Big hugs to you too my friend πŸ™πŸΌπŸ’•

      Like

  18. First post, baby steps, coming out of ourselves, feeling unsure and doubts … oh yes, I can totally relate. We’ve all been there Di. Congratulations on taking this first step. And I wish you many wonderful trips of sharing and a happy and enjoyable journey. Glad you’re here. Enjoy. 😊

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

