The weight of a word

IMG_0768.JPG🌹”In the beginning was The Word.” The Holy Bible
🌹“Raise your words, not your voice. It is rain that grows flowers, not thunder.” Rumi

Hello beautiful!
Yes, you.

I just increased your ‘feel good hormones’ and created harmony in your body by having you read such a happy and positive word.
And by writing this, I’ve also induced changes in my brain that promote wellbeing!

You see, words have power. Words carry their own vibration. Their own energy. This post concerns the power of high vibrational words…those that contribute to our expansion and continue us on the path to evolution as a spiritual being.

Written, spoken or thought,
words, when used with the loving intention to foster harmony…
…Inspire
…Encourage
…Show respect
…Convey care
…Express emotions
…Uplift
…Heal
…Reassure
…Bless
…Show LOVE

One single word of appreciation, kindness, or a simple ‘hello’, or Good morning’, can change the course of someone’s day. Not only by affording them the luxury of being seen and validated, but also by promoting the release of these chemicals that literally change the way your brain functions.

I have a friend who was sitting alone one day on a pier just watching the fishermen. She was going through a really tough emotional time with some tragedies in her life and was visibly upset. And she proudly related this story to me when she revealed she was so touched when one of the fishermen came to her and simply said ‘Are you ok?’ She conveyed such feeling when sharing how important those few words were to her that particular day. She felt like she mattered and someone cared…

We all understand the power of a swear word when we’re upset. And that certain words can create a cold shiver upon speaking them. We are advised not to send an email when we are upset or angry, not only because we may say something we’ll regret, but because we have the potential to send negative energy into the world.

Our reality is created by what we think and say, therefore the more uplifting words we can consume on a daily basis, the more likely we will serve them to others as naturally as breathing. And the more positive words we will, in turn, notice in our day to day life. It’s truly a happy cycle that diffuses greater love into the world, one positive word at a time. Affirmations are a perfect example of the power of choosing our words. They must be in the present tense, and always positive. This is the reason the words ‘I AM’ are so powerful. When repeated on a regular basis, we can change our attitude by the thoughts we have.

We say we create a beautiful meal ‘with love’, meaning we pour our heart and love into the food and its preparation as a way to tend to our loved ones, and show we care, and subsequently share the meal. And so this same intention may be infused lovingly around our words.
When someone asks us how we are, what do we say? ‘Not bad’, even if we are feeling rather good that day? It becomes a habit to say this but we can create a new way of replying that is so much more energising and uplifting. I used to work with someone who would always respond with ‘awesome’, ‘stupendous’, or another equally positive and entertaining superlative…a lovely way to share space together.

I’m pondering why I have almost impulsively fallen in love with writing and consequently created this little ‘personal cyber real estate’ otherwise called my Blog.
I serendipitously stumbled across a new desire to express myself through words…with the intention of creating goodness for you as you read them.

So, as new as I am to the genre of creative and inspirational writing, all I can say to reassure you is that I choose my words very carefully. I completely understand how one word makes a difference.

I like to believe it began by immersing myself in nature in the wilderness of Tasmania last year.
At the same time as highlighting the beauty of the landscapes from photographic images I captured, the two seemingly melded together, leading me on a joyful pursuit of creating as much positivity and fostering wellbeing through words and images.
So far, it’s been a beautiful journey that had its genesis on another platform for personal expression. I wake up with words on my mind in the sleepy haze of my semi-consciousness, hoping to better what I had expressed on the screen the previous day. I’m a work in progress, aiming to become proficient at saying more with less as I evolve…

I wish us all more joy, contentment, happiness, encouragement, shimmer, kindness, wisdom, harmony, peace and above all, LOVE, from these words I refer to as my ‘beautiful’ words.
May we seek them out, beginning with our thoughts.
May we read them, write them, breathe them in then breathe them out for others to share in their healing power.

And above all, please offer yourself love using these words through your thoughts and how you speak about yourself; treat yourself kindly, with respect, because that’s where the magic begins.

Sending love and my best intentions as I send this post ❤️❤️

🌟If you would like to read more about the power of words, please feel free to follow the link I have attached. It contains some more of the scientific proof of how we change our brains when we focus on positive words. Really fascinating research and I hope you enjoy it.

http://www.everydayhealth.com/columns/therese-borchard-sanity-break/420/

32 thoughts on “The weight of a word

  1. I am surprised Di that you are surprised by the impact you have on people with the first contact you make with them.The same happened to me with your first comment on my IG.Words as you say are indeed powerful.I will be forever grateful to you for making me feel that little bit more special.For that you get a 💜and a ☯️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello dear Edward🙋
      What a treat to see you here reading my post. You have so much going on over there so I’m the one who feels special…
      Thank you sincerely for your beautifully kind comments. They mean a lot. Yes, words are such a perfect way to express ourselves often better than in person.
      Really appreciate hearing from you 🌟🌟

      Like

      1. Hello Dear Friend,
        Just realised I’m getting notifications of your reply in my email.
        It is my treat reading your beautiful posts.I just have to wait until I have peace and quite to read them properly.Have a wonderful Sunday Di and please you don’t have to thank me the pleasure is all mine.🌟🌟🙋🏻‍♂️

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hello, ‘someone’ as you are appearing to me in my notifications.
        Maybe it’s you Edward from your words and little waving symbol.
        I understand and thank you for signing up for email alerts. If you prefer, you can undo that and just pop by when you wish. That way your emails won’t block up with all the notifications.
        Time is of the essence and there is so much we could spend time reading… but we have a real life too. I totally understand.
        Never any pressure and your kind comments are welcome whenever, if ever, you can.
        Have a wonderful week my friend 🙋🌹🌹

        Like

  2. Such a thought provoking post Di. It is so true that we often underestimate the power of words. I was at the grocery store one day when the cashier asked how I was doing and I said good and you? He said he was amazing and then went in to tell me why. It made me feel happier to see and hear about a strangers happiness. I full heartedly believe in simple acts of kindness and the power of words. Thanks for another wonderful post!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much Nicole… and what a lovely story. Often they are taken aback that we ask in return. I love how he said he was amazing. As you are too. Thank you again 💕

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Denzil👋🏽. Thank you so much. I truly appreciate your kind feedback. As a newcomer, it means a lot to me. I’ll check for a new post from you on Sunday 🌟🌟

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Yet another brilliant post!! And it’s only your third one!! Bravo to you, Di, for having the power to put into words what some of us cannot do ourselves!! InstaGram has been a savior for me in this respect. I have met such a warm, caring community of smart individuals! Never have I looked forward as much to being on a soclal media platform. It is always a thrill to see other peoples’ photos, read their intriguing captions and learn a bit more about other folks and their realities. It truly has been a Godsend for me, I am surrounded by so much negativity in my daily dealings at work, that I often find myself checking out IG during the work day (a bit more frequently than I probably should) just to surround myself with the “positive vibes”, as you say!! I try to be upbeat no matter what. Some days are harder than others, but just knowing that you are there to lift my spirits each and every day makes life just a little bit easier.

    Thanks for being you!! And for listening and encouraging me every step of the way!!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh Cynthia. That’s such a heartfelt series of comments from you. You are so welcome. It’s easy to return the love and respect you offer to everyone. But I do understand how negativity can weigh you down (there’s that weight language again!) and it’s so true. Look for the beauty and it will help ease the rest. Thank you so much for your kind compliments about my blog. It’s a pure pleasure to know you and I’ll look forward to that cuppa and lunch with you one day. Sending hugs 🌹🌹💜

      Like

    1. Hello dear Peggie👋🏽
      Thank you so very much. You are so right when you call these ‘reminders’. I’ve been thinking about it and yes, I firmly believe everyone knows all of this and to hear stories about how much simple things make a difference… I think it’s great for us all to be reminded when life gets messy. Thank you again for your kind support 💐❤

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello dear Carol!
      Thank you so much for your kind supportive comments. I’m touched and yes, words… so powerful. I know you agree by your always beautiful comments to people. Thank you again 🙏🏼🌹🌹💕

      Like

  4. Words are indeed powerful Di and once again you’ve proven what a natural you are in sharing them. Thank you for your uplifting messages and the very profound way you convey love and peace. I love reading all your thoughts and look forward to journeying with you and spreading more kind words in this world of ours. Beautifully written post. 🌹

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hello dear Miriam. Thank you so much for your kind words of encouragement. It’s very early days for me as a ‘writer’ but I really have fallen for it and I look forward to finding my rhythm and style more with each post. I value your kind words very much. Yes, together we will spread the goodness, my friend 💕🌟🌟🌟

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Watching the daisies, you have just made my day. Thank you so much. After a really challenging day with the technology to write this post, your kind comments have made it all worth it. I’m off to bed content now. Really grateful to you 🙏🏼🌺🌺

      Liked by 1 person

  5. You yourself live by it 101%.
    From the day I know you, I am astonished, how kindly, humbly, lovely, respectfully, encouragingly you write and reply.
    It indeed sends vibration of comfort, acceptance and love. I too am trying and yes you are correct it works like magic.
    Congratulation for another magical post.
    My dear friend you will reach millions of hearts.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Dear ArtOfMobile. Thank you so much for your beautiful compliments. I really take them to heart and yes, I think you understand how important words are to me. You are always very encouraging with the words you use in your posts. I value your comments about my writing greatly and I also appreciate you stopping by here 🌺🌟

      Like

  6. This reads like a prayer so I will say, “Amen.”
    The day you commented on my IG post asking, “How are you?”, I was so touched and felt so comforted. In turn, I am making a much more conscious effort to ask this of others more often. Doing so brings all those warm feelings back each time. It’s a win-win proposition. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello lovely Kathy.
      That’s such a beautiful addition to my post and I sincerely thank you for it. I’m touched that something so small to ask can have such a profound meaning and a consequent ripple effect of good will. It’s a lovely example of paying it forward for you now as you described.. I really appreciate your kind comments my friend 🦋💜

      Like

Leave a Reply

