A train journey to self acceptance.

IMG_0426.JPGHello beautiful!
I’m not sure if it’s because we’ve been watching some gorgeous English documentaries about train travel, but recently I woke up thinking how similar a train journey is to our discovering our calling, becoming comfortable in our own skin and simply just arriving at the stage where we can say the we love ourselves, including those parts we have found a challenge to love in the past.

You see, I think of the ‘passengers’ that enter and exit a train as our thoughts and the people who enter our lives …some climb aboard, stay for a single stop, or a few stops, and then depart, leaving us with only memories, experiences and their spirit…while some will stay aboard for the entire journey.

Sometimes, we can feel like we are stationary, like the train at a stop, and it can feel like we are there forever, as we peer outside at life passing us by… …as if we are by-standers in a life that’s not entirely of our making. We easily forget during these times that the engine is always running, ready to proceed towards our destination as soon as the new ‘passengers’ have begun the journey with us, and the ‘passengers’ who don’t further require our services have alighted.

There are days when we are flying with the wind in our hair, taking in the beauty that surrounds us, charging over beautiful old fashioned bridges with a view as far as the eye can see, all the while gathering momentum to sustain us between the stations.

From time to time, when we are busy thinking of other things, we jump on the ‘wrong’ train, but it becomes the gateway to an entirely new way of seeing the world…so in reality, there can rarely be a ‘wrong train’. We are able to change trains at the next stop should be still choose to, and continue on the journey we anticipated all along; but now we have seen a different route…and a seed is planted.

When we have no preconceived idea of what the destination may look like, this can often become our greatest journey of discovery, consisting of new worlds that hold our fascination and allow us to be fully present in the moment, brimming with wonder and awe.
Other days, the train trip becomes so predictable. We can still find beauty in these trips because of the comfort found in routine, and the familiar ‘passengers’ who commute alongside us. We feel safe there with them by our side…

And of course, there’s the good old express train…it seems to have it all worked out, with its correct combination and amount of ‘passengers’ to enable the journey to take place. It speeds through the stations, without stopping, not collecting those ‘passengers’ waiting to board, content with its fill for the moment. Meanwhile, our train is battling the rush hour ‘passengers’, and taking forever to reach its destination, stopping at every station. It seems like we will never make it to central station. Sometimes, just sometimes, we wish we could be the express train…

Occasionally, because many lines converge onto a central point, we must wait out in the rail yards. Patience is required while the train whose turn it is to arrive next at the central station has their moment. The trains have learnt to accept that they cannot all arrive at the central station at the same time. Some trains are slower, some have engine troubles, some signals are unreliable and the journey may become hampered, as too the lines become hampered with trees or other debris. But the point being there’s a time for all the trains to arrive safely and on time, with each one sturdy in its purpose to simply follow their own line and timetable. Naturally, they carry varied ‘passengers’ with many stories of their own, all with a set purpose, and the trains come from far and wide.

Finally, the signal is given for us to enter the tunnel and approach the central station…
We notice that there are lights shining to show us the way ahead…they emanate from the train. As well as this, the inside of the train seems to have become brighter, even as it’s enclosed by a dark tunnel…now we cannot see outside, only reflections of what’s taking place inside, as we gaze towards the windows. It’s during this time that we observe our companion ‘passengers’. They become more vibrant and we notice more. This affords us the time to really look at them…to take everything in, discover how they may teach us, merely by their presence.

All these lights have been shining the entire time, but until we entered the darkness, we weren’t able to see that we were the source for creating our own light. It’s so easy to forget this and we need reminding from time to time… but they were always there throughout the entire journey.

The last task on this train’s journey is cleaning, washing the windows and decluttering…but it cannot be done with passengers on board…it must be an empty train for the cleaners to enter and make the space comfortable for the new arrivals…again, some will stay for only a while… some will remain for the entirety. And thus, a new train journey commences, emerging from the dark tunnel, replete with new ‘passengers’ brimming with vitality and vigour, anticipating new adventure, and surrounded by beautiful scenery. The train is overwhelmed by its awareness that it created its own light, that it was always present, but not always easy to see. And grateful for the dark tunnel to highlight this awareness.

This time, it will remember…it has evolved…and sees its light leading the way for others, but above all, for itself first.

I do hope you enjoyed this little analogy that came to me, and my wish is for you to remember you are a bright light, that you are always being looked after and guided, even when the train is crowded and stationary. The dark times can deliver you the brightest light…and there is a time for us all to pull into central station, as we cheer on other trains from the sidelines while we wait our turn.
May you all be blessed wherever you are in your journey.
Di xx

47 thoughts on “A train journey to self acceptance.

  1. “you are always being looked after and guided, even when the train is crowded and stationary” What a beautiful sentence and so true. I am learning right now how to be more patient and to have faith that everything will fall into place when the time is right.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Carolin🌸
      What a lovely surprise to see you here in my post.
      Thank you so much and I’m touched you enjoyed my sentiment….yes, it’s not easy to have patience and it sounds like both of us are working to trust the process a little more now.
      Well done to us. It’s worth celebrating.
      Thank you again for such lovely comments 🙋💕

      Like

  2. Aaww beautifully written Di, I love the analogy of the train, taking us to new destinations and a new life maybe too.

    Regarding appreciating self as beating beautiful, Sometimes we don’t even notice that we have flaws till others point them out and make it into one.

    Otherwise the world would be a much nicer place if people stopped belittling others around them because of their own deficiencies and just to make them selves feel better.

    Thank you Di.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello dear Simply-me🙋
      Firstly, I truly value your kindest words. They mean so much to a newbie like me… so encouraging so thank you from the bottom of my heart💕
      Secondly, I couldn’t agree more about you mentioning other people bringing up our flaws before we even noticed them!
      This actually sent me on such a negative spiral that I would tell people about them first so ‘when’ they noticed them, they would know I was aware of them. So that’s all I focused on… not any more! I’m over it and will be writing about that sort of thing coming up. It’s been a huge journey and I hope to help others to begin to love themselves. It’s kind of my passion.
      Thank you for bringing this up in your lovely contribution to my post.
      Take care and thank you again 🙏🏼💝💝🌹

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I truly understand you Di, I was in a similar situation about myself, that I was self conscious of how I did things until I left them behind and continued my life being happy.
        People like that we may bump into again but we need to work to be confident about ourselves and who we are and not let others trample over us so easily.

        Always a pleasure reading your encouraging posts and welcome once again.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ah how lovely to meet you then, kindred spirit🌸. Thank you for your understanding and supportive comments, Simply-me. Thank you again… I feel welcomed 💐

        Liked by 1 person

      3. You are very kind, Simply-me. I truly appreciate our little conversation today (my time anyway… I’m in Melbourne and it’s nearly dinner time now so it’s been during my day🌸) so thank you 🙏🏼💝

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Love the analogies you have used and how you have expanded on them in relation to Life and personal and spiritual awareness and growth and the hiccups/detours we all experience in these areas.. Love your writing.. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello dear Vivienne,🌸
      Thank you so much for finding my post and for your beautifully encouraging words. They really have made my day. I’m touched that you found value in my analogy.
      So happy you visited here 🦋💕

      Like

  4. Fantastic Di.
    I too have a fascination and have drawn analogy from Trains and platforms.
    Let me share one of it, if you do not mind. Long time back I lived in a confusion of what I am doing here 🙂 .
    My mind drew a strong analogy of trains and a platform. And this troubled me to think and look/find an answer.
    The analogy was simple but was strong. It was like ,this earth being a platform were we live.We do not know which train has brought us here and also where should we lead or leading….ha ha it may sound stupid,But I was severely bitten by this thought.
    It’s more a feel of knowing your identity and to know a purpose.
    Till now, only I have understood from mind – heart storming is, to make the journey a simple, enjoyable and less ignorant.
    Your post has made me to re-live some of my moments and also to look from another perspective and better my understanding.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Firstly dear ArtOfmobile, I want to say thank you for reading and responding to this post so kindly and honestly. 🌸
      Secondly, you know I wouldn’t mind for a second, thirdly, nothing you say here will ever be seen as sounding ‘stupid’. Remember… you’re safe with me.
      As for your overwhelming feeling about the trains and platforms, there is an intuition that’s guiding you towards that analogy… and perhaps it’s there for your healing or clarity in you finding or at least, exploring further, your purpose and identity. Maybe gift yourself the time to hold your heart and sit with the thoughts and see what comes up for you? I don’t believe these thoughts arrive randomly.
      I’m touched that my post helped you to re-visit the ideas that were clearly so dear to you… trust yourself my friend.
      Thank you again for a wonderful addition to this post ✨✨🌹✨✨

      Like

      1. Dear Di,
        Certainly I am at safe hands. And honesty I feel very comfortable to comment on your post.
        You are very correct that analogy have driven me to many inner experiences.
        Most majorly it made me realize ,just like there is food for stomach and mind. The soul also need replenishment , growth and direction.
        It has helped to transform from the state of restlessness to a state of content and wonder. But this journey goes on and I may have become a observer.
        Yes you are again very precise in saying “I don’t believe these thoughts arrive randomly”.They definitely have a purpose.
        Thank you again for hearing me out. Love

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hello again ArtOfmobile🌟
        I’m content you know that… add your thoughts anytime. I love hearing from you.
        And such deep truths… yes, the soul needs its own food as you articulated beautifully.
        Life is certainly one big journey and it’s lovely to read that you have reached a certain amount of contentment in your life. Enjoy that feeling when it arises in you…sometimes it’s elusive while other times it is palpable.
        I’m happy that my words about the thoughts not being random resonated with you. It’s such a magical way of being grateful for them and finding what they can teach us.
        You’re very welcome re- the ‘hearing me out’. Always…. 💐💕

        Like

  5. Oh Di, this is truly magical 🌟💫🌟and such a true analogy of life…so many feelings surfaced reading this….poignant, joyful, intense, sad, happy, uncertainty, gratefulness, friendship, change….and the list goes on. It would make a great mini movie 👌. Thank you for stirring my heart today 💜💜💜🌟🌹xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh Carol…. how to respond to such beautiful comments and do them justice?
      I’m moved by your words ‘stirring my heart today..’. Isn’t that really what it’s all about? To move people, to have them feel something? (Hint as to part 2🌟) If I have been able to create that for you, my lovely, them I’m so utterly content.
      Thank you doesn’t seem enough, but really… thank you 🙏🏼🌹💕

      Like

  6. Hello darling Di, I finally found the time to read your article on life… what a wonderful analogy. Our lives as train journeys with
    people coming and going over the years and each friendship whether temporary or eternal playing a part in our own journey…. (like the parts of a jigsaw) beautifully written dear friend…. thank you from the bottom of my heart…. sorry it’s taken so long for me to get around to responding but at last I have. You have a beautiful soul….. I wish you all the best on your journey, dear friend. Whatever
    happens good or bad, forms who you are, and who you become…..
    love and light…. stay blessed❤❤❤❤❤❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello beautiful Maggie🌸
      Thank you so much for your wonderfully encouraging words on this post. They really mean a lot and I’m touched that this piece resounded for you. I know in your wisdom and you being the kindness that you are, you already understand the principles but I really appreciate you contributing your thoughts. And that’s perfectly fine about not commenting until now…. whenever you get to the posts, if at all. You know where my link is now. Time gets away I know, with the comments and replies as well as your amazing photography and the walks with Apple.
      Sending love and may you always be blessed, my dear Maggie 🌈✨❤

      Like

  7. Your post is very thought provoking and what stands out to me is how people hop aboard and then depart. When they are in it, it seems like they will always be there, but then one day, sometimes without even noticing, they are gone. I think back to some of the people who were once in my life, and it brings a ping of sadness, but most of all it makes me smile. Each one affected me in some way, good or bad, and contributed to the person I am today. And for that, I am very thankful!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hello 🌺
      Thank you so much for your kind comments on my post. It means a lot.
      And I totally agree… people come and stay for as long as they do. And we are left with memories…I often still wonder why people can’t stay around forever and as a highly sensitive person, it caused much angst for most of my life thinking something was wrong with me… that I couldn’t maintain friendships etc. Things began to change when my beautiful grandmother in law once said ‘people will be in your life for a month, a year or more and others forever.’ That made me realize it was ‘a thing’ and we all seemed to experience it.
      Thank you again for adding to the conversation in such a heartfelt way. Have a lovely day 🌺🌺

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you Tanya🌺
        I’ve just read your ‘About me’ section to find your name and I love what you’ve written about your journey.
        How exciting for you and I can identify with you seeing the world differently. I’ll read some more of your posts soon.
        Thank you for your lovely comments and encouragement 💐🌟🌟

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You are very welcome Tanya. I’ll leave comments so you know when I’ve read a post. I wasn’t able to on the About section but I think the rest will be alright for a comments box. See you there 🙋💐

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Thank you… and that’s perfectly fine, Tanya. As long as you get my messages, this lovely reply will be plenty. I know it takes time to reply to everyone. Just feel encouraged… I know how special that feels 🙋💕🌈🌈

        Liked by 1 person

  8. What powerful imagery you’ve given us here Di to ponder on our life’s journey. I must admit on my early morning walks with Harry I often watch the train pass and wonder about the tracks, the passengers, the analogies of life and where we’re all heading. Seems you and I are on the same wave length again. 🚂
    Wonderfully written, love the Puffing Billy photo and now, with this last post of the night read, it’s off to bed for me. Happy traveling Di xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Miriam… these are such beautiful and encouraging comments for me. Thank you so much and I can see from your posts too that we mull over similar things. Isn’t time in nature and the early morning so conducive to pondering? I’ve always adored trains so it seemed right to post this one.
      Thank you again my friend. Enjoy a brilliant new day 🦋🌺

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Absolutely. In fact I’ve just returned from my usual morning walk with Harry. Always a great time to reflect and just be at peace in the morning. Have a lovely day my friend. 🌸

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Hello beautiful Di! I absolutely love your analogy. There’s so much to think about and relate to in this post. I’m finding all your writing very relatable and poignant and each post seems to be connecting with something I am going through or having trouble with at the time of reading. Thank you for your gift to all of us, your readers and followers. 💜

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello dear Kim
      I’m touched by your kind and encouraging comments on my blog posts. Thank you so much.. it means a great deal to me.
      Reading that it resonates for you… I’m so content. To share ideas that we are not ‘the only ones’ feeling the way we do I know is very comforting for me, so if I can pay that forward…
      Thank you again for stopping by, Kim. Hugs to you 🌹💕

      Like

  10. A beautiful analogy Di, that I find very helpful, especially, as I mentioned earlier, I have decisions to make myself as to which “track” to take. I like the understanding that there is no wrong train to take. I also like the analogy from the point of view that you don’t talk about riding a train backwards, i.e. returning to a previous experience, event, location or even person. Was this deliberate, or am I reading something that isn’t in your original thoughts? What do you think about the concept of always moving onwards, and not looking behind you or returning to a previous experience or success? I would be interested in your thoughts Di.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hello Denzil🙋
      Thank you so much for your lovely comments and feedback about my post. You raise an interesting question about going backwards. Well, I may have considered it in the part about taking the ‘same train journey’ which provides comfort and familiarity but in all honesty, as we evolve as spiritual beings, even if we returned to a previous experience or success, we are not the same person as we were, so it would be like a new opportunity… I believe. It’s like reading a book a while later and finding something new because that’s the stage you are at now..we notice different things. . ‘when you buy a red car, that’s all you see’.
      So in that sense, even as we are moving forward, to then reverse would still seem like new. As long as we don’t ‘reverse’ into the ways of thinking or being that didn’t serve us.
      I value your thoughts on this and appreciate you asking, Denzil.
      Let’s have a lovely conversation about it after replying to you here.
      Warm regards from Di 🦋🌟🌟

      Like

  11. What an excellent analogy Di! The imagery is so evocative and meaningful. While many of my Eastern European train travel experiences haven’t been nearly as pleasant or insightful, you’ve swept these thoughts aside. Thanks!

    I’d love to try to create a sketch using this as inspiration if you don’t mind. If you like it, I’ll be happy to share it on my blog with a link back to you here.

    Cheers!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hello Gabriel!
      Isn’t that funny.. from the documentaries from train travel in Europe, that WAS my inspiration!
      Thank you for your kindest of words and your amazing offer… well I’m speechless. You are very welcome and I’d be honoured. And when I have my act together about embedding links the professional way, I’ll more than happily return a kindness and highlight your blog too.
      I hope you enjoy creating with Puffing Billy, the beautiful steam train in Melbourne’s mountain range.
      Thank you again Gabriel 🌟🌟🌟🌹

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

