Love really is…all around us. Part One

IMG_0892

I have a confession to make… we were fortunate to acquire tickets for Adele’s final concert in Melbourne last night, and from the moment she walked on stage, I had tears rolling down my face. It is so embarrassing when other people are simply enjoying the moment, huge smiles on their faces, while there’s me, sitting stony faced like I wasn’t feeling a thing…unless you noticed the glistening of tears rolling down my cheeks…

This unbridled emotion appeared from seemingly nowhere, as you see, my husband is the one most likely voted to follow her every move. He has played her music for so many years now, and it was to ‘accompany’ him that I attended.

And… curiosity too.

What is it about her that captivates so many of us, from all ages, as attested by her audience last night? Yes, she has a beautiful voice that flows like honey the minute she sings a note. But there must be something more to her to attract crowds like she has. And was there something even bigger at play that had this over sensitive heart reeling with emotion?

Reflecting on it today, I think it began with the early dinner in the city. The restaurants were full with the buzz of something we were preparing for together…an anticipation that flowed effortlessly through the city. That was followed by a tram trip to the top end of town to the stadium. The tram stops were again full, after all, around 75,000 people were heading in the same direction.
We were packed into the tram like sardines, on a very warm Autumn evening. But there was a patience…an energy, a buzz, as people looked out for each other on the tram. Someone from deep within the bunch detected someone required alighting…clearly they were not a concert goer. We all shuffled to make space as best we could.
Some of us began chatting, sharing in the excitement of the moment. Some had travelled from Malaysia to attend. These lovely moments repeated themselves once we were at our seats, happily sharing travel stories with those next to us.

Before long, the great ‘Mexican wave commenced; we all eagerly awaited our turn for the wave to approach and then… smiles all around as our hands flew into the air. There was sheer joy in the concert goers’ faces. Why did this promote such joy? Me being me likes to contemplate these things…all the while, my husband is analysing the stage for the mechanics of how it was created, where Adele may be coming from, the lighting…you get the idea… we are very different in what takes up our ‘waiting time’ thoughts!

I believe the joy is found in the ‘unison factor’, apart from appearing very beautiful to witness around a grand stadium. We are ‘all in this together’, approach, with each person playing their part, to create a beautiful whole…happy, fully present and united through eagerness for what we were going to experience… our hearts and minds flowing as one. This feeling is now known as ‘Coherence’. There is some amazing work being done by HeartMath Institute who scientifically explores our connection with each other. They have a variety of videos on the subject and I’ve included one beautiful one here in case you enjoy this area of study.

The phenomenon occurs in many situations, including sporting events, but last night, there were no sides taken…no dividing into two… we, all 75,000 of us, were there to experience the gifts from one… only one, young lady who has mesmerised so much of the world.
It was palpable and was part of the reason for my tears; this is my default mode for anything ‘emotional, good or less so!…My heart was experiencing this coherence, with a deep feeling of connectedness overwhelming me.

Please join me for part two soon…Di 💕

37 thoughts on “Love really is…all around us. Part One

  1. You have such an amazing heart Di and a beautiful message. I am blessed to know you, do you know that?! 🙂 🙂 Have a wonderful rest of your week! Love, Debbie ps – tomorrow is my birthday (it may be today for you) – so glad to share it with YOU.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello lovely Debbie,
      That’s such a kind compliment in your message and I’m touched.
      I’m so happy we have connected too. I appreciate your kindness and loyalty.
      It’s Tuesday afternoon down under as I type this so Happy birthday for your tomorrow. May you be blessed with love and goodness. Enjoy your day Debbie 💐💕

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Martine! Thank you so much for reading my post and leaving your very kind words. I’m so happy you understood what I was experiencing there.
      It was really lovely to hear from you and I hope we connect again very soon🙋🌸

      Like

  2. Must have been so amazing to hear her live and with such a crowd! I love the connectness of being there in the moment listening to live music. I have not been to a large concert I years but will never forget hearing U2 live at our college football statism outdoors in the summer of 1992. Unforgettable. Great post Di!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much Nicole for your lovely contribution to this post.
      Seeing U2 would have been amazing too. It clearly had an impact on you that you’ll never forget. Music and emotion seem to go hand in hand.
      I appreciate you stopping by and your kind words are so encouraging. Thank you again 🌟🌹

      Liked by 1 person

  3. How wonderful for you, Di!! Happy to hear that you had such a moving experience!

    As a regular concert-goer, I can honestly say that I prefer shows at smaller venues. I’m not comfortable around large crowds, particularly at outdoor shows where you stand the entire time. There’s always someone taller than me, or a group of people talking over the sound of the music, or people jostling for a better position. Even at indoor shows at large venues, I find the vibe is completely different.

    In June 2011, my boyfriend and I went to see Prince (RIP) at a small venue. The show was announced on the Monday of the same week and the tickets sold out in minutes. It started at 11:30 pm on a Friday eve, and we danced and clapped and sang our hearts out with him and the band until 3:30 am. We left after the fourth encore (“Purple Rain”), thinking the show was over. We found out the next day that he played a few more songs after that and we were just a wee bit disappointed that we didn’t stay! In December of the same year, we saw Prince again at a much larger venue with about 25,000 or so people in attendance. It was an ok show, but it really did not compare to the previous one, which had more of a jam-like, groovy tone!

    Sadly we will never get to see him perform again. But I will cherish forever that sultry, summer night as one of the best evenings of my life.

    So I guess we shared the same type of experience after all; funny how that goes, eh?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Cynthia🌸
      Thank you for reading my post, and for your lovely feedback.
      I know what you mean about large venues and I was a bit dubious about it too. But we were all seated and it was actually very orderly. And the stage was right in the middle so Adele was equal distance from all boundaries.
      Your experience with Prince would have been superbly intimate in such a small venue.
      Every concert has its own energy as you described, with the bigger venue but the same artist.
      Yes, it’s so sad and I’m finding the passing of George Michael very sad too.
      We all feel things in very different ways and this certainly was very moving for me. Hope you enjoy part two with a different aspect to the event. Thanks again dear Cynthia 🌹✨🌹

      Like

  4. First of all, I want to tell you that I am blown away that you saw Adele in person! WHAT?? Like you say, everyone loves her and I am no different. She is so special. She seems like the type of person you can sit down and have a real conversation with and feel like she is no different than you. I have a ‘celebrity dinner date wish list’ and she has been on it for years. I would love to sit down and talk to her. Your perspective on life is wonderful Di, and if everyone saw it the same way you do, there would be so much more peace and happiness in this chaotic world. I am glad I am one of the lucky ones who has found your blog and gets to experience your refreshing takes on life! Fantastic post! 👏💕

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello dear Tanya!
      Thank you for such a lovely contribution to my post. So Adele also has a hold on you too? So many people have said that and I set out to find why…
      Hopefully part two will offer at least my thoughts on it.
      I’m touched by your lovely comments about my blog and how I see life. It means a lot so I’m very grateful to you, a very talented writer.
      🙏🏼❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I would choose Adele over anyone else to sing to me on my deathbed and choose her to hang out with over anyone else if given the option. I can’t wait for part two to find out your thoughts on the matter! Ha! She is the absolute best to me! Your blog is fantastic and I am happy to share this journey with you! 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Well she really is special for you Tanya. I truly hope part two ( perhaps even a part three because I’m not sure how to condense it all to a reasonable length!) will honour Adele the way I hope you will enjoy.
        Thank you for being on this journey with me 🙏🏼💜💜

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I would have loved to been there Di. I tried to get tickets for her concert last year but they were sold out ahead of time. I did get to see Bryan Adams though with my sisters and neice and the feel good factor has stayed with me since. I think music is such a wonderfully bonding healing gift. I saw a video on Facebook today of a man with Parkinsonism disease walking with ease when music was played by his therapist. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Watching the daisies,
      Thank you for reading my post and contributing your lovely thoughts.
      I’m happy you can understand the feelings I described here… they are very powerful and music can certainly move us. It would have been great to see Bryan Adams too. I have enjoyed his songs for many years.
      As for the video you described, I’ve seen something similar. And I believe the same occurrence is with Alzheimer’s patients too. Suddenly they sing the words to their favourite songs when they appeared to lose their ability to communicate. My Mother passed away with this and if only we knew then… what we know now…
      Thank you again. I really appreciate you stopping by 🦋🌸🌸

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Another touching post, Di. Thank you for sharing your feelings and thoughts. I too have felt that sense of ‘oneness’ while in a crowd of people all there for the same reason. I remember also seeing ‘Wicked’ for the first time in London with Krystle and when the lead sang for the first time, I almost sobbed (you know, the ugly heaving type of crying?) and had to really try and swallow it so as not to frighten anyone! Hehe. It was very emotional and I think it was for the reasons you spoke about. ‘Palpable’ is a really good description for the feel or energy of the crowd. It really is quite lovely, isn’t it? I don’t normally like crowds of people but under those circumstances, it adds to the positive collective consciousness. Looking forward to reading part two! xx💜💜
    P.S. Wish I’d seen Adele too! I feel like I missed out on something great.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Kim!
      What a gorgeous contribution to my post. Thank you so much and what an experience for you in London with Krystle as well… yes, I know that awkward kind of sob where you really just want to let go because holding it in is just too hard. I certainly get you there.
      It is a lovely feeling as you say, and how wonderful are your words ‘collective consciousness’. So well stated, Kim. I’m thrilled to read you are looking forward to part two. It’s a longer piece so its in draft mode and I’ll pretty it up in the next couple of days.
      Thank you again and I’m so grateful you stopped by here my lovely friend. Hope she will return one day or you may catch her on your adventure travels 🦋💕💕

      Like

  7. I have to tell you Di, honestly, that I had tears reading this. Perhaps because I could feel the emotion in your words, maybe because I seem to feel everything more intensely these days. I’m not quite sure what it is but I think, had I been sitting next to you at the Adele concert, I would have been in tears as well. ❤️
    She’s quite an artist isn’t she? Close friends of ours went on Saturday night and said it was amazing. Beautiful write up Di snd you captured all the emotion, lead up and vibe perfectly. Thanks for taking me there. xo 🎧🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh Miriam… you don’t know… or perhaps you will know… what your lovely words mean to me. I’ve just written my first draft of part 2 and making us ‘feel’ has been a big part of it. As a blogger, that’s actually one of my intentions and I am so honoured and touched that you shared your tears with me. Yes, getting to know you, I think we are certainly kindred spirits and our cheeks would have been glistening in unison, no doubt.
      Yes, she is amazing as your friends attested to as well. Thank you again for such a beautiful response Miriam 💜✨💜✨

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I do know Di, mainly because we really do think and feel alike, yes kindred spirits indeed. I remember going to a Josh Groban concert in Melbourne a few years ago and I felt the same as what you described. The palpable feeling of being united and the most powerful and uplifting energy. I imagine it was exactly the same as Adele. Very special moments. Can’t wait to read part two. xo 💘

        Liked by 1 person

      2. … I knew you would Miriam…
        thank you✨
        And that’s wonderful that you experienced the same uplifting feeling, surrounded by thousands of others too. So enriching and special that you still feel and remember it…
        Thank you for waiting and wanting to read part two… it’s a bit longer… so far anyway.. so I’ll post it closer to the end of the week.
        I am so grateful for you🙏🏼❤❤

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Vivienne🌺
      That’s so kind of you and I couldn’t feel more uplifted from your amazing support and comments. Again, they have made my day. Thank you so much 🙏🏼🦋💕

      Like

  8. I remember asking a friend this very question several months ago. “Why is Adele so popular?” As you said, her music is excellent, but so are many other bands that don’t attract anywhere near the same level of adoration.
    I’m sure you touched on a big part of it as you experienced this rare sense of unity and celebration at her concert. But I still wonder… what is it about ADELE that triggers these responses?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Gabreil🙂
      A lovely addition to my post, and I hope to shed a little light on it at least from my point of view, in my second part. I’ll look forward very much hearing what you think about my thoughts… Have a great day there 🙋🍃

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Wow! I love Adele too Di, and would loved to have seen her live. You are so right about events such as this bringing people into unity…such a blessed and joyful experience. I follow Heartmath too and love their commitment and work in educating the world on our connectedness. I’ll look forward to part 2 😍👌🌟💕💕💕🌹xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello lovely Carol! 🌹Thank you so much for your supportive comments on my post. And I’m so glad you enjoy HeartMath too… I’m not surprised✨✨
      You are a treasure and I’m grateful for your friendship 🌹💕

      Like

  10. Thanks for this Di. I am looking forward to Part 2, and I have bookmarked the video for when I have 7 minutes of interruption to focus on it. I think it’s a very interesting subject – coherence – and I guess there is a link here to religious group experiences. I’ll come back when I’ve seen the video.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hello Denzil! Thank you for stopping by my post. I really appreciate hearing from you.
      And yes, I know all these little extras take time but when you have some, you know where to find it. Just knowing you’d like to is lovely.
      And as for your question about religious group experiences, I can say without a doubt when there is a group of people gathered to pray or to send blessings… there is coherence. It may be covered in their website, which is extensive, Denzil. I can send you their website link if it will help?
      Thanks again and have a good day 🙋🌟🌟

      Like

    1. Oh Debbie… you are so encouraging and your words heal my doubts deeply. Thank you so much, my lovely friend. I appreciate you, and may you also be blessed 🌈❤🌈

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

