Reblog guest post… ‘And then I met a duck.’

Hello there, and welcome!

I’d love to introduce you to a guest reblog post from Tanya of the incurable dreamer.

Her amazing blog is witness to her sheer determination to overcome and accept with grace, some of the greatest hardships that life throws her way.

This repost from her blog, is about an encounter with a duck that changed her life.

Tanya writes as she feels, full of raw emotion, honesty and passion, as we journey with her through the cascade of emotion from anger to acceptance in this piece.

I truly hope you enjoy this moving post, written by a very talented writer.

Tanya, thank you for your generous permission to repost… and now over to you…🌹

IMG_9540 (1)
Image  by Di

and then i met a duck

“I hate the saying ‘The universe only ever gives you what you can handle.’ Like, hate. it.  If someone ever says those words to me in my time of need or sorrow, I will have to refrain from punching that person in the throat (not really, but AHHHH!).  I think that quote is absolute crap and makes no sense at all.  The universe dishes out whatever the hell it wants, to whoever the hell it wants, and when it does, each of us is responsible for how we respond to it.

A few months ago, I was witness to a woman having a full-blown meltdown in a coffee shop.  She unleashed her wrath all over the barista because he had the audacity to tell her they were out of bananas – news that apparently had ruined her life.  Yeah, a banana.  She wanted a smoothie, and when she heard that they were a banana short, she totally lost her shit.  The abuse she spewed upon the staff was shocking.  I stood there mesmerized and appalled by her relentless tantrum but also felt deeply concerned, for her.  I thought to myself, ‘Wow.  If this is how she behaves over a banana how is she going to handle a real crisis?’  The universe isn’t going to care when it has a bomb to drop whether she can deal with it or not, it’s just going to drop – she is not exempt simply because she couldn’t keep it together over a stupid banana.

Anway, you get my point.  Right?

My ability to maintain my composure and deal with life has been put to the test often, and I am quite frankly of the belief that the universe seriously hates me and has it out for me.  I envision that some seriously twisted guy (like Doc from the movie Back to the Future) is in charge of my universe, and is sitting in a glass box with a bird’s eye view looking down on me snickering wildly.  And he takes a bite of a Twizzler and rips it viciously out of his mouth with a look of insane satisfaction every time he presses the ‘I am totally going to mess with her right now’ button.

If this is some karmic payback, then hey, I am willing to take my punishment like a champ – I know I have really annoyed some people – but this seems excessive.  Dude, I haven’t been this much of a jerk, ENOUGH ALREADY!

He has pressed that button more times than I can count in the past few years, and each time he did, I was left reeling.  That son of a bitch was ruthless at times.  But, unlike the banana lady, I chose to handle the circumstances that were thrown at me, differently.  I made a conscious choice to fight, to find my way back from the paralyzing darkness and to see beauty in tragedy and loss.  And I did.  It wasn’t easy, but I did.  I came out the other side enlightened, inspired and at peace with who I am.  I was ready to live the life I had always dreamed of living.  I was beginning to fly.

But, just when I was about to soar he pushed that damn button again and clipped my wings.

An ailment is impeding my ability to function at a normal level, and I struggle daily because my body won’t cooperate with my mind.  My mind is sharp, committed and ready to reach for the stars, but my body keeps me grounded, discouraged and battling to continue moving forward.  No matter what I will my body to do, fatigue and pain won’t allow it to do what I need it to do.

Then that guy, callously set his sights on my family, deciding it wasn’t enough that my stepmom has to fight a disease that will eventually take her, no, he thought it was best for her husband to now fight the same disease right along with her. ‘Why do it alone when you can do it together, amirite?’  That asshole must have thought.  He had no regard for how much they were already dealing with, the stress associated with it and what was already weighing them down.  Now, not only do they juggle endless appointments for her, but also for him.  The worry and uncertainty are staggering, and all of us are still trying to process what the hell is happening.

So, in the past month, the voice inside my head that so often whispers the words ‘just quit‘, has grown louder.  And I have begun listening. ‘Just quit‘ it continues whispering, each time nudging me a little closer to giving up.  I have struggled to see how it is possible to continue chasing my dreams when I feel the way I do, and awful things keep happening to those around me.  This past week, I looked into renting apartments, and instead of writing, I chose to get lost in the world of Hogwarts, wanting to be as far away from my world as possible.

Then, something incredible and unexpected happened.

I met a duck.

The duck, who belongs to the people next door, snuck into the yard of the people I am petsitting for and couldn’t find her way out.  The neighbour came and retrieved her, but not before I was able to get a few photos.  And as she was leaving to go back home, I was able to give her a little head rub (the duck, not the neighbour), and my heart melted.  The joy that little duck brought me is indescribable.

A couple of mornings after that I heard a duck squawking, but really loudly and close to the house.  It was 5:45 am, and the ducks are never up that early, so I knew right away one of them must be stuck in the yard again.  I ran to the living room and flicked on the light to the backyard and right outside the glass door was the largest raccoon I had ever seen.  My first thought was, ‘Oh shit, where is the duck?’  I hit the door to make the raccoon move, and when he turned, I saw the duck and screamed, ‘NOOOOOOO!’  The raccoon had the duck I had met only days earlier by the neck.  I hit the door again, and the raccoon released the duck and took off into the field.

My mind was racing.  I knew I had to get that duck.  I ran outside in my underwear and picked her up, and when I did, she didn’t resist.  Blood was oozing out of the wounds on her neck and had painted her back and tail red.  I needed to stop the bleeding.  I sprinted inside and immediately applied pressure to her neck, while whispering, ‘please don’t die, please don’t die.’  I kept telling her it was going to be ok, unsure if it actually was.  I kept waiting for her to fade, to show signs the end was coming, but instead, she just looked at me with her gentle eyes, her composure completely intact, as if to say, ‘it’s going to be ok.’  I couldn’t help but think in the midst of chaos, that her reaction to this horrific situation was remarkable.

After slowing the blood flow, I put her down, quickly dressed, and delivered her bloodied to the neighbours.  I apologized profusely for the horror I had bestowed upon them by knocking on their door at 6 am, but they, of course, couldn’t have been more thankful.

I turned and walked away with my head down, bloodied myself and completely disheartened.  ‘Did I do the right thing? ‘ ‘Is she suffering more now because of me?’ are the two questions I couldn’t stop asking myself.  I couldn’t believe what had happened and I couldn’t stop imagining her pain and fear.  I felt shattered.  I showered and returned to Hogwarts, desperately wishing I could board the train on platform 9 3/4.

The next day I hesitantly approached the neighbour and dared to ask the question, ‘Is she ok?’ I then braced myself for the dreaded words to come.  ‘SHE IS GREAT!’ she joyfully exclaimed.  ‘WHAT?’ I screamed back.  She went on to explain that she wasn’t sure she was going to make it because of the blood loss and the number of wounds, but she did pull through.  AND, not only did she pull through, but she had had enough of solitary confinement and was already back with the other ducks.  If I had known this woman better, I would have broken down right there.  The relief that flooded over me knowing the duck was okay was so powerful it almost knocked me over.

I couldn’t stop smiling and cried tears of joy when I went back inside.  For the first time in many days, something went right. Bless her; she was alive.

My mind went back to the moment I was holding her and the way she looked at me, ever so gently.  I don’t know if she chose her response to the horror that was unfolding around us, but I like to believe she did.  In the face of such adversity, she responded with grace and dignity, even with the knowledge it might not be ok.

I am watching her as I type this.  She is in the field – a little worse for wear – but she is alive.  Waddling side by side with her family, she has let go of what happened to her and is moving forward.  With her resiliency on full display, she reminds me that once again I have a choice to make.  To face it, handle it and keep living life with conviction and purpose, or crumble in the face of adversity.

I choose to be like her.

So, with the dignity and grace, she has shown me, I too will continue moving forward, chasing my dreams side by side with my family, facing whatever is to come.”

Thank you for reading and until next time…

Hugs to you,

Di

.

32 thoughts on “Reblog guest post… ‘And then I met a duck.’

    1. That’s lovely of you. It’s a reblog so it’s by ‘I can be the dreamer.’ Tanya has an awesome blog if you would like to read more of her posts.
      Thank you for visiting here,
      Di 💐

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Hello Di, what an absolutely fabulous read and, of course, I totally get how nature can deliver us the most profound insights when we least expect it. A very special read so thank you for sharing ❤️. I have been having a problem with receiving your blog notifications and it appears my account was signed into an email address that I don’t check very often. I think I have managed to switch it over to my current email so hopefully I will receive your new posts. Aaaargh!!!! Technology does get the better of me sometimes!!!!!! 😙😦🙃😄🌹xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello dear Carol,
      Thank you for letting me you enjoyed Tanya’s blog post so much. I know it will mean a lot to her as an author of a pending first book too.
      It was just such an honest and vulnerable piece that resonated so well with my blog theme…

      And I’m sorry you are experiencing tech issues…. our fave, aren’t they Carol!! I hope by the time you read this, you managed to figure out why.
      Thank you again for your kind and loyal support. You know I will reciprocate when the time comes….🙂
      May you have a wonderful week,
      Di 💕🌹

      Like

  2. Oh, Di, I love that you reblogged Tanya’s post. What a way to support and connect with our wordpress family. ❤ And so lovely to see how your blog is growing – YAY! You are such a gift, and again (as I say a lot), I am so grateful that Spirit has brought us together. Much loving your way. Debbie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh dear Debbie,
      Thank you so much. Yes, I’m attempting to learn the ropes about gracious blogging. I’ve highlighted yours and now Tanya’s with more to come in the future too. Those who welcomed me and have stayed with me are very special to me.
      Yes, it growing a little bit and I love the connections through it the most.
      Thank you again my friend. Your thoughts always mean so much 🙏🏼💜💜

      Liked by 1 person

  3. What a wonderful post, Di! Thank you very much for sharing… Indeed, there’s so much to take away from this story.
    I agree with Tanya. The universe does not choose what challenge to give and to whom…but it will always depend on how we respond to it! Always always a matter of choice.
    Thank you for sharing. I now have a new blog to follow! 😊

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh thank you so much Nina! I’m grateful to you for reading my repost.
      That’s a lovely comment and I’m so touched that you may choose to follow Tanya. Thank you for letting me know.
      Have a great day 💐✨✨

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s wonderful, Di. You never know how many other people would benefit and get inspired with those posts. As they say “sharing is caring!”
        Have a wonderful day Di! 😊💛

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Di, what an absolute treat today to come to your beautiful blog and find an equally inspiring piece by Tanya.
    I so enjoyed this post and it reminded me of the bigger picture in life, how our reactions and thoughts influence all we do. Animals have so much to teach us don’t they and I’m glad that in this instance that poor battered duck survived to teach us all about resilience. It’s not always easy but I’m a firm believer that there really are silver linings, we just have to be open to find them. An inspiring and raw post by Tanya and a lovely share by you Di. Enjoy your weekend. xo

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hello my lovely!
      Thank you so much for reading my guest post…. I’ve plans to do the same for you proudly in the near future for sure.
      I’m so glad you enjoyed this piece from Tanya, especially in light of your Easter post… we’re all in this together and I hope the more we share of these kinds of stories full of hope and encouragement for others, the more we can all cross the finishing line having lived hopefully, our happiest life.
      I certainly wish that for you too my dear Miriam.
      Thank you again for your kind support and I know Tanya will see your lovely comments 💕🌹

      Liked by 2 people

      1. We absolutely are all in this together Di. That’s the beauty of this platform where we can share, empower and inspire whilst at the same time receiving the support of others going through the same thing. Big hugs to both you and Tanya

        Liked by 1 person

  5. It was lovely to read this story by Tanya again. Awake at 3.30am today and while lying in bed, I was struck by the ability of animals to strip away all the crustiness that we build up around us (perhaps a protective barrier, particularly when life is shit) and bring us to a kind of base point where we can begin to see the goodness. I also really enjoyed reading ArtofMobile’s allegory this morning. There’s comfort to be had there. Still looking forward to reading Tanya’s book! 😊💜

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hello Kim!
      What a heartfelt and lovely contribution to this conversation. Thank you so much for adding your thoughts. Yes, there must be an innocence about their reliance on us and their unconditional love. Sometimes good thoughts can come from those wee small hours can’t they?
      I’m so glad you took a moment to read ArtOfMobile’s poignant allegory. They have a way with words as you do kim, and contribute thought provoking comments as well.
      Yes, I believe Tanya was writing last week so I know she will value your words above.
      Thank you again Kim 💐💕

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Brigid,
      Thank you so much for reading this guest post by Tanya, I’m glad you enjoyed it and I agree… I’m so happy the little duck was fine in the end too.
      Tanya is also writing a book!
      I’ll look forward to catching up with your new post over the weekend if not today Brigid. Have a great evening 💐

      Liked by 2 people

  6. Di, I didn’t realize you were doing a shout-out solely for me and my blog. Wow! I almost don’t know what to say, but I will start with THANK YOU! As a writer, I always wonder if the posts or stories I write mean anything or if anyone even cares. You have shown me from the beginning that you care and that they do mean something. Your support encourages me to keep writing – and is a priceless gift I have often leaned on when self-doubt reared its ugly head. You are a very kind hearted and thoughtful person, and I suspect that anyone who knows you and spends time with you, can’t help but be inspired to become their best selves. That is the kind of influence you have on those around you – pretty powerful stuff. Thank you for sharing this story. I really do believe that we are responsible for our reactions and what lessons we extract from a situation, good or bad. There is always a silver lining, as they say, we just have to choose to see it, and if we do, it might just change our lives. Heroes also come in all shapes and sizes, and for me, that day, my hero and inspiration, was a beautiful and powerful little duck. Thank you, Di. For everything.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hello dear Tanya!
      Oh didn’t you? Well I’m so happy you received your pleasant surprise!
      Thank you for such beautiful compliments and they have made my day…
      I knew that little duck had such meaning for you Tanya, and that’s why I adored this post so much. As well as your inspiring attitude that you’ve articulated here too. Grace indeed.
      And when I suggested Kim read it too and she loved it, I knew I had to do my part to share your story and your writing…. it’s my pleasure so please just enjoy the feeling and be encouraged to keep writing as you suggested.
      I believe it doesn’t take much to be kind but has powerful ripple effects.
      A very supportive friend from Instagram called ArtOfMobile has left a beautiful allegory in their post above that you may also enjoy…
      Feel special, seen and heard, Tanya 💐💕

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I remember you mentioned, its thursday when you publish a post. So early morning (as per my early morning 🙂 ) I made a visit and was very happy to see a new bloom in your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah that’s wonderful of you, ArtOfMobile…. Yes, I was a little hesitant adding it to my Insta post again and hoped you may have picked up on that one…. I’m glad you did! You’re amazing! So supportive 💐🌟

      Like

  8. “As raw as life is, as true as life is”
    Nice post from your friend blogger. Very inspiring !!.
    As I was reading the first few para ,glimpses of a story appeared in my mind which I heard from someone some years back.
    I still remember it, thus it means I may have reaped some benefit out of it :). I hope you would like it.I searched the story in internet and found it written nicely thus I am pasting it here:
    The story of “Kisa Gautami”
    “Kisa Gautami was a young woman from a wealthy family who was happily married to an important merchant. When her only son was one-year-old, he fell ill and died suddenly. Kisa Gautami was struck with grief, she could not bare the death of her only child. Weeping and groaning, she took her dead baby in her arms and went from house to house begging all the people in the town for news of a way to bring her son back to life.
    Of course, nobody could help her but Kisa Gautami would not give up. Finally she came across a Buddhist who advised her to go and see the Buddha himself.
    When she carried the dead child to the Buddha and told Him her sad story, He listened with patience and compassion, and then said to her, “Kisa Gautami, there is only one way to solve your problem. Go and find me four or five mustard seeds from any family in which there has never been a death.”
    Kisa Gautami was filled with hope, and set off straight away to find such a household. But very soon she discovered that every family she visited had experienced the death of one person or another.
    At last, she understood what the Buddha had wanted her to find out for herself — that suffering is a part of life, and death comes to us all”.

    Its just not about death, its all about how we face things. Life is equally raw, equally challenging and may be equally equal to all.
    I appreciate how your work to bring and present gems to all of us.
    Love and Care.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hello dear ArtOfMobile,
      You found my post without an Instagram alert! You’re one step in front of me today, but I’m mightily glad you did.
      Thank you so much for letting me know you enjoyed it. I’m sure Tanya will see your comments.
      And I’m touched that this inspired you to share this amazing allegory. It’s beautiful and reminds us of a basic truth that’s such a difficult one to come to terms with. Sometimes we can feel like we’re the only ones who experience these difficult situations at the time.
      We can take comfort understanding this truth applies to us all.
      I’m very honoured to be able to bring you gems such as this one and as always, I honestly value your kind words.
      Thank you so much.
      Love and care in return to you 🙏🏼💐

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

