Curiosity and the Blessings of Back pain… Part Three

IMG_1387.JPG
Image by Di. Captured during some alone time last year.

‘Before you can love yourself, you have to BE with yourself.’ by Matt Kahn.

Prophetic words indeed….

So after I read Dr. Sarno’s book, it resonated strongly with me due to no pathological reason for my back pain… So deep diving into what was really going on in my mind was something I wanted to explore. It came quite naturally when I remembered I possessed the healing power of Reiki in my hands.
Giving myself the time to slow down, I could allow emotions to rise that I hadn’t addressed before…what I believe my body was craving was firstly to grieve and then accept.

During the time of an afternoon I’d spend on the floor because my back wouldn’t allow me to be upright any longer, the Reiki promoted permission to lie still, with beautiful angelic music playing in my darkened room.
May I share a beautiful piece of piano music that I hope you find angelic…
‘Maybe’ By Yiruma

Whilst lying there, the tears flowed freely, realising the fact my children had grown up and left home leaving me with this huge hole to fill. I’d also cared for and lost, ageing parents during my children’s adult years as well.

In my mind, they were the best years and now they were over…So you see  I’d been quite busy before last year and had thought I’d moved on quite well…

So that this post isn’t another very long one, suffice to report to you that within a week, both of my health issues had begun to subside noticeably. Perhaps my dear friend was right and the two were connected to my feelings of loss and grief in that part of my body. To this day, there has been no recurrence of either issue. I was able to join a yoga class and still attend weekly.

This is my story and I’m just happy to share what worked for me.

So, what were the beautiful blessings from my back pain, and indeed, the events leading up to that experience?

Here are my reflections…

IMG_5589
‘Who am I when no one is looking?’       *Words by Matt Kahn.       *Image by Di

🌟 It taught me to slow down long enough to listen to my heart. You don’t need to perform Reiki on yourself, but to lie or sit in the presence of music that may bring you to tears…to really feel it’s resonance through to your very soul… Incredibly nurturing and healing itself.

🌟 I learnt life is too short to continue with something just because you started it. There are always benefits to beginning something that perhaps you won’t see through. We’ve all heard the expression to finish something we start. Why not see it as having an attempt at something to see if it’s for you? When we really think of it, it’s perhaps the fear of failure too. Grab it head on and give it a go, I say. Fear of beginning something that you may not complete could prevent you from a short period of something beautiful that contributes to your growth and new ideas. It’s like the glass half full… ‘well, it didn’t work out but I sure as anything met some new friends, learnt some new skills’, to name only a couple. That is certainly the case for me after leaving my university course.

🌟 Resistance of issues and suppressing emotions does us no favours. Keeping busy and not affording ourself the space to really process a life changing time is not actually moving on at all, but more like closing the surface on a gaping hole hoping it will hold. Exploring emotions is nothing shameful and releasing them can promote a clear view and renewed vigour for life.

🌟 It taught me to give meaning to every event that occurs in my life, especially those that on the surface appear unlovable.

🌟 I discovered Self- appreciation by acceptance and nurturing myself. We all have those stories that were told to us about how we should be, how we could be better, stronger, smarter, less this and less that. In time we walk around with everybody’s baggage in our heart and on our mind. True freedom is living the life you want and to come to accept all those perceived ‘weaknesses’ as strengths. I wrote about here it in Autumn leaves and forgiveness

🌟  Spending quality and necessary time alone, preferably in nature, afforded me breathing room to catch up with myself. I liken it to growing pains whereby I had to be stretched in order to become more aware of the person I was…and being cracked open to make room for new growth…

🌟 I discovered I’d been on this spiritual quest in the hope of eradicating those undesirable traits… but in reality, the journey I’d taken only helped me realise the key to contentment… ….Is loving what is, and loving who we are already. That in no way means I’m not striving to be more loving, kind, compassionate and caring… these are noble traits that involve a spiritual growth and evolution, all part of our expanding inherent nature. Just as in Mother Nature herself. We already possess all of these things and  becoming more aware of opportunities to share and cultivate them are my goal.

🌟 l learnt that Photography and words have now become my new life, thanks to the powerful kindness from my friends, family, Photography Facebook, and Instagram friends. I now feel something very profound when I post an image and write some words to accompany it.

🌟 Oh, and also…
I learnt I must stay curious…
… Because we’ll never know what’s on the other end of our curiosity.
…. all because of that hot Summer’s day with my new iPhone…

Thank you so much for riding alongside me on my journey. I hope you found some goodness out of my sharing this and remember… you are worthy, you are enough, you are love…

I’d would like to feature some more images captured during last year that were part of my healing journey. I hope you enjoy a little explosion of nature🌹

Wishing you peace and happiness,

Di 💜

IMG_9425
Adding some magic to the nature wonderland where I spent much of my time.
HNJK9461
After my back was almost healed, we travelled to Tasmania, which consolidated my love of landscape and reflection photography. This is Cradle Mountain lodge.
IMG_3879
Having some fun with Macro photography to highlight the beauty of flowers. Not to mention loving raindrops and fully appreciating them for the first time…
44 thoughts on “Curiosity and the Blessings of Back pain… Part Three

  1. I just hopped on to your blog from Instagram. ( I’m Tripwears on Instagram) Your words… in many ways, remind me of Buddhist teachings I received several years ago. Your reflections really speak to me. I guess I’m in that place in my life now. 🙂 It’s really late I’m India now but I’ll be back tomorrow, reading more of your insightful thoughts. Much love. Harinie.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Harinie,
      What a lovely treat to read your awesome comments. They have made my day. Thank you so much.
      I’m so touched that you would pop over from Instagram to read my blog.
      As a new person to writing, your thoughts couldn’t be more encouraging, and to think they have hints of Buddhist teaching is very important as I love the philosophy it teaches.
      Yes, funny how at different times in our life some things resonate more than at other times.
      You will be very welcome whenever you get a chance to drop by again to share a ‘cuppa’ together.
      Love from Di 💐💕

      Like

  2. You’ve got such an amazing takent Di in ohotography Di. These photos you shared are awesome!!! May I borrow them when I share another quote for my blog’s “Happy Thoughts”? 😊
    I also agree with your list of learnings especially about taking it slow and accepting our emotions. I too am guilty of this, but I have experienced the cathartic feeling of having the quiet alone time with self, absorbing and then letting go of emotional burden. ☺

    Like

    1. Hello dear Nina,
      This is a gorgeous response… thank you so much. I’m touched, and I’d be honoured for you to use whatever you would like.
      It’s quite a journey isn’t it Nina, with the little daily reminders and just sitting with our feelings as they arrive. Learning not to fight is a huge step forward.
      Thank you again… I really appreciate hearing from you,
      Di 💐💕

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s always a pleasure to read your posts Di! I am always learning from you. 🙂 Sometimes, we may know something but it is still different when we hear or read how it is presented by other people. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you Nina, thank you, and I couldn’t agree more with you.
        We all have our own little take on something that may just be a new way of seeing it for us.
        Enjoy your day 🙋🏻💐

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for reading my post… yes, I’ve met some lovely people here.
      I appreciate you stopping by by and taking the time to leave an encouraging comment.
      Hope you may visit again soon,
      Di 💐

      Like

  3. Beautiful Di! Thank you for sharing such a personal and moving story. It is lovely. Someone told me a Native American proverb “Life is like a quilt and every piece matters”. I liked that. 😌😌😌

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow, wow, wow, Di. This is a magnificent post. I so acknowledge you for all you learned from your experience with your back. What a self-honoring gift to YOU!!! I’m really just taking in what you wrote …. so much richness and loving.

    If you are called, I would be honored for you to contribute this post to my Forgiving Fridays for this week. It’s a special one, as I’ll be doing little nice things all day for people who post & doing a forgiving intro too…. all as a way to inspire forgiveness.

    Anyway, I think you remember how to do it. Just include #ForgivingFridays and a pingback to my ForgivngFridays post. (Here’s the link if helpful:https://forgivingconnects.com/2017/05/12/todays-forgiving-fridays-an-honest-look-at-myself/

    I’m so glad to know you and again, much kudos to you. So honest and strong!!
    Debbie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello dear Debbie!
      Thank you so much for your kind words. They are truly valuable to me.

      Well, as it happens, your theme this week is exactly a perfect fit for the piece I’ve just drafted so I’ll be happy to join in. Thank you for adding the link.
      I’m touched to know you too lovely!
      Thank you again,
      Love, Di 🙋🏻💜💜

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I got it!! So excited 🙂 I commented on it already! Will include it in my post tomorrow for Forgiving Fridays. LOTS of love and gratitude to you, Di. Blessings, and more blessings –
        Debbie ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hello my dear Debbie,
        Yes, thank you for your amazing comments. I read them and replied too. If it’s not appearing, I may have ended up in Spam, as is sometimes still the case…🤔

        I’ll keep an eye out for your post.
        Much love,
        Di 🌈💜🦋

        Like

  5. Hello Di,
    I have listened to Dr Sarno’s interviews. He is such a compassionate and wise man. I shall put his books on my list. This is another truly inspiring post from the beautiful music, through your sharing of your journey and your awesome photographs. I look forward to reading many more. Blessings. 🤗

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Brigid,
      This is the loveliest of comments… thank you so much. It really makes it all worthwhile to think you have enjoyed the information I shared. I truly wish it may resonate well with you.
      I’m happy you enjoyed the music… and my photos.
      I’m touched and you’ve made my day.
      Wishing you many blessings too,
      Di 💐🌟🌟

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I was looking forward to this next instalment and got so much out of it. So many commenters have mentioned how it resonated with them so I am not alone there. Isn’t it amazing how we are, each one of us, completely unique and yet we go through many similar feelings, journeys, circumstances? You manage to tap into those similarities with an approach that is ‘accessible’ to us and give us guidance in a way that isn’t forceful or insistent but gentle and kind. I was reminded by your words, that although I enjoy being alone, I am rarely ‘WITH’ myself: always keeping my mind occupied, whether by reading or doing jobs about the house, watching TV, etc. Even when I’m listening to music, it is the background to something else I’m doing. So how on earth can I really know myself? Serious light-bulb moment here! Thanks for opening yourself up with these posts and sharing your deepest emotions. I feel grateful and blessed to have your friendship. 😘💜💜😘

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello dear Kim,
      That’s such a beautiful comment box to contribute to my post. Thank you for all your thoughts and for feeling safe and welcome to express yourself here.
      Yes, it’s very easy to hide behind other activities to escape what’s deep inside. I’m touched that this has given you your ‘light bulb’ moment as you described.
      We are all in this together and so I wish you some pondering moments for just you, to hear the calling of your heart. You are beautiful and deserve every happiness. Thank you for your support and friendship too my friend 💐🌟💜

      Like

  7. What a mind-blowing post, dear Di!!! Not only your words (which are always spot-on and so inspring), but the piano piece (which I adore) and all of your GORGEOUS images (especially the one with the stars dancing on the water). I love everything about this post, and can so relate to it!

    Back pain is no fun but mine was nowhere near as bad as yours. I can`t even begin to imagine what that must have felt like. At least you had the [non-medicinal] tools and the foresight to use your Reiki healing powers! Kudos to you for that!

    My younger daughter also got married last year in March, and it was one of the highlights of my life (as I’m sure it was for you)!

    Like you, I am a firm believer that before we can embark in a loving relationship with another human, we need to LOVE ourselves first and foremost. After almost 10 years in an emotionally abusive relationship, I finally ended it and went on a quest to figure out what worked best for me. I started putting myself first by enrolling in a part-time uni program in journalism, and also by returning to my first love (sports). I started jogging again, rekindled my love of downhill skiing, met someone with whom I played tennis and also cycled. That particular relationship did not work out, but now I’m in a much better place (and relationship), and I do both of those sports with my current partner in crime! Life has a funny way of going full cycle (literally), doesn`t it?

    S sorry to hear of the loss of your parents. I can’t even begin to imagine what that’s like. My dad is 94 now, and my stepmother is 80; they’re both starting to slow down but very much intact brain-wise.

    I can totally relate to feeling the emptiness after your adult children left; it was exactly the same for me.

    Kudos on another amazing post, my dear friend!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello dear Cynthia,
      Firstly, may I let you know that I’m very touched that you feel safe and welcome to express yourself here. Thank you for your kindness radiating throughout your words.

      I can see you have truly shared some difficult things that have occurred in your past. To be so gracious and giving after the heartbreak of emotional abuse shows your true character and strength.
      May sharing it here be another step towards healing and acceptance.
      You sound like you are in a wonderful place in your life now with a great partner and some fun sporting activities.
      Your dad is doing so well for 94! Wonderful.
      And yes, those babies of ours have to fly the nest but it’s never easy to begin with. Talking about it helps enormously so thank you for understanding.
      Grateful as always for your generous input my friend… thank you so much 🙏🏼💕

      Like

  8. Incredibly powerful post, Di. I love all of it. Music is my therapy, and without it, I would be lost. It inspires me every day and allows me to connect with myself when I can’t seem to find my way. Writing ignites my soul but music kind of keeps it burning. It is so important that each of us discover what it is we love, even if that means beginning, then beginning again. Like you said, it is ok to let go and move on. You have also reminded me to take care of myself and deal with the stress of what’s going on around me, so my physical being doesn’t suffer.

    Almost daily I plug in my headphones and listen to the video below. It fuels me and reminds me that only I am in control of my destiny. These words have helped me get through some of my darkest times.

    Thank you for sharing your experience here with us! You are amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello dear Tanya,
      Thank you for sharing your thoughts here. It’s touching for me to know you feel safe and welcome to do so.
      I’m thrilled that writing this may have reminded you to take care of yourself and that it’s perfectly ok to do so.
      I have found your link in YouTube and I’ll listen to it shorty. I see the title so I know it will be something I’ll love too! Thank you!
      And to know your therapy, as in music, is wonderful so when things become overwhelming, you know how to regain balance in your life.
      I really value your supportive words and as always, the kindness that radiates throughout.
      Well, I think you’re amazing 🙏🏼🌈💕

      Liked by 1 person

  9. And we are certainly kindred spirits…we have both dealt with our painful emotions by self-nurturing and giving ourselves the permission to find the space to do just that. we are so worthy of that aren’t we. I am thrilled you have come through and found your passions to write and photograph. You have so much to offer others. I love your captures of nature here…so healing just looking at them Di. Thank you for sharing your journey Di, it has definitely helped me on my journey. Much love, Carol 🙏🙏🙏⭐️🌹Xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello dear Carol,
      Thank you for your gorgeous comments and compliments. They are truly inspiring and yes, I agree that we are totally worthy. I was going to actually use that word in an insta post next time… great minds 🌹
      I’m thrilled to share my journey if it instigates such valuable and special comments and conversation.
      Much love and gratitude to you my friend 💕💐

      Like

  10. Oh Dear!, so beautiful post. I read the post while listening Mr Yiruma on the headphone.And honestly I felt not to write, but just to live with the moment of inner-experiences.
    But then, I love to express my gratitude.
    Today’s post is way different than others. Every letter, every word is ripened in honest confession and leanings.
    You have shared a GEM today and it will be a shine for many.

    I am so glad I met you somehow and I believe I will keep on meeting you somehow !!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello dear ArtOfMobile,
      Well, you’ve once again been able to bring that warm fuzzy feeling for me….
      Thank you so much for your amazing comments and compliments. You know they will have made my day 🙏🏼
      I’m so glad to have met you too.
      Please, may we always keep meeting like this here or somewhere else… 💐🌍

      Like

  11. What a spectacular post Di. 🌹From the beautiful moving piano music that I listened to, through to your heartfelt reflections and lessons and your stunning photos, you really have found your path. Thank you for sharing your journey with us. I loved this post. Much love to you lovely lady. xo

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh Miriam… you know, I could feel a warmth literally flow me through as I read your beautiful words…and with a smile on my face.
      That’s a huge compliment coming from the top blogger you are. Thank you so much. You’ve made my day….
      Much love to you too, beautiful 💐💕

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I meant every word Di, it really is such a beautiful post and so much of it resonated with me. Amazing how we’re on very different journeys yet so much is similar. I can’t wait until the day we meet in person. Thank you again beautiful lady, both for sharing your heart and your lovely comments here. Hugs 💕🌸

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I know you did my friend. That’s why it made such a deep impact. Thank you again so much.
        And yes, I could tell very quickly we were kindred spirits too.
        And I think we are getting closer to making these virtual hugs a reality 👏💕💕

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

