*Sharing the light…*

image
Image by Di

“What do we live for, if not to make life less difficult for each other?” George Eliot

Hello and welcome,

After beginning my blog, it evolved rather quickly into a journey of how I arrived here and also became an examination on the subject of self-acceptance.

I sought to find new purpose, and it’s not exactly where I assumed it would be…

For years, I thought the only way to make a meaningful contribution to others would be in a one on one setting through holistic health. No matter how many courses I pursued, I wasn’t rushing out to begin a business in energy healing, incorporating the hands on type of approach…
Why not?…

I had no clue…

There was always something niggling at me. I knew I wanted to add value and have a purpose in some tangible way.

But how?

How could I add value through this new creative outlet of photography and words? These were not what I had traditionally thought I’d pursue in a million years, but now I understand…
I chose to stop fighting against what I expected from myself and became open to a new paradigm…

Anything that lights us up…
That little spark of excitement…
The thing that has us day dreaming about possibilities…
and imagining…just imagining…
If it makes us feel happy, if it brings out the best in us…
it’s adding value to the world…
The world thrives on people feeling connected to their light…
And like this candle’s light, radiate a warm glow to those around us…
In the hope they may also ignite their own beautiful light.

 

IMG_0614
Image by Di

 

It’s sometimes mentioned that self- acceptance and self-love imply narcissistic or selfish tendencies. I don’t believe that to be the case. If anything, once we begin to accept ourselves as we are, sharing our light isn’t about being showy, but more about being quietly confident to live a life of Love….

It has potential for us to seek out the goodness in others.

It may foster more outward- focused living, where we are in a position to reach out more readily, see without judgement, open our heart, become more compassionate, purely because we are more aligned with our values, living a life that’s true to ourselves…

One where we are not afraid to share our vulnerabilities.

Through blogging and photography, I’ve found a home for these two new passions that are my means of reaching out to this world…
I’m not at all saying this blog is faultless by any means, as I’m very much a novice, but what I can honestly say is that I’m absolutely loving creating meaning from constructing letters that become words, to sentences and finally a post, with the intention they may resonate positively for someone. Even one person…

So my wish is to hopefully bring you comfort, encouragement or value by this means.

For this post, one that I’m intentionally keeping short ( by my standards!), I’d love to share with you an interview I discovered recently.
Ideas we have instinctively known for thousands of years are just beginning to be validated by Scientific method, which I personally find very interesting.

This interview shares much about what I’ll call the ‘Art of self-acceptance’ and reasons why it’s important and healthy to begin fostering a happy working relationship with ourselves…it also includes a discussion on Mindfulness and stress. It is on YouTube but doesn’t require watching, as its audio only. I hope you enjoy it. The quote below is a snippet if the interview is not something that resonates for you… 

‘Self-acceptance genuinely impacts the brain and genuinely decreases your anxiety so that you can use your vulnerability for good…’ Dr Srini Pillay, Psychiatrist and Brain Researcher.

How self talk changes your brain by Srini Pillay

Thank you for reading, and I wish us all the very best on this journey as we walk each other, hand in hand, to the finish line…
The line where we say to ourselves.. ‘I accept myself.’

Much love,
Di ❤️

IMG_2023

64 thoughts on “*Sharing the light…*

  1. Letters to words to sentences to paragraphs to posts. You bring positivity one syllable at time 🙂 You say you’re blog isn’t perfect. I beg differ because, really, what does the perfect blog look like? Certainly something different to everyone. Keep calm and blog on! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello stomperdad!
      Thank you so much for reading my post and adding such wonderful positive comments.
      I’m comforted by your words that ask what a ‘perfect’ blog looks like… it’s all in our self expression isn’t it really? And there isn’t a rating for that. So thank you.
      I really appreciate your kind visit here 🙋🏻💐

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Di, look at all the awesomeness I have been missing out on this past week – what an incredibly meaningful and inspiring post you have written. Yes, yes, yes! As I read your post, I couldn’t help but feel lucky, because honestly, it feels like I already have one foot over the finish line. The issue I have is with self-doubt and belief in myself that I am capable of achieving the goals I have set for myself. But as far as self-acceptance, I know who I am and am so proud of the person I have become. And like you say, not in a selfish way, but in an appreciative and thankful way. The last three years have taught me so many things, and within myself exists peace I have never known and a profound understanding of the person I am. And for that, I am truly humbled and grateful. To know what I stand for and what it is I am meant to do in this life is truly a powerful thing. And when I look around at the people beside me, I am reminded just how incredibly lucky I am. I wish everyone could feel this way. Blog posts like this one, though, encourage people to keep striving to reach that finish line. You most certainly have discovered your purpose, Di. Keep writing and embracing who you are. You are amazing! xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello my friend!
      That’s understandable but thank you for taking the time to read these posts now. It means such a lot to know you want to read them.
      Thank you for your incredibly inspiring and encouraging thoughts on the path to self acceptance… it’s such comfort to know it is possible and to learn of the beautiful results from it. To know ourselves and what is at our essence, is a profound thing.
      I am so happy for you and I truly hope you won’t allow those pesky doubts to prevent you from your goal… I see them as something we need to just push through, after we have sat with them and learnt about why they are here for us. What are we really afraid of?
      Your kindest of comments are so very encouraging Tanya, and it’s also because of you connecting when I began my blog that I’m still here. I had such amazing support and those words have a profound effect on us all.
      Thank you for…. just everything 💐💕

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Makes me happy Di, that the support you received encouraged you to stick with it and keep blogging. And it means a lot that I was able to play a part in that. I mean, look at you go – there is no stopping you now!! Words do matter, and so often are the difference between someone giving up or moving forward. Your words have provided encouragement to so many and have given them the courage they needed to keep going. Thank YOU, for everything!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hello dear Tanya,
        That’s a lovely response… thank you so much. There are so many amazing blogs out there and I’d love to read them all and make a comment because I know how special it is… if only time permitted.
        I’m touched and invigorated by your kind thoughts. Thank you my dear friend, and… see you sooner rather than later….🙋🏻🌎
        💜💜

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Great perspective Di. Glad to see that I’m not alone (based on some of the comments I’ve seen thus far) in having some work to do towards self-love and self-acceptance as well. You continue to be a source of positivity and motivation to improve. Cheers!

    Like

    1. Hello dear Gabe,
      Thank you for such a positive and honest contribution to this conversation.
      I’m the first to put my hand up, hence the reason for so many blog posts about this topic. It’s certainly a poignant topic for many people and I believe the baby steps make a big difference… celebrate every time we speak gently with ourselves. That’s a win.
      I really value you stopping by here to read. It means a lot, my ‘little mate’.
      All the best and remember…we are all in this together. You are never alone…
      Hug to you from me 💐💕

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Nikki,
      Thank you for reading my post… I’m so behind with reading blogs this week….
      I value your thoughts here and know just what you mean. That’s why I thought I’d share my little tips that I’m working on as this seems to be a huge issue.
      Baby steps and little victories when we speak kinder to ourselves than when we may have once beaten ourselves up. Those little steps forward feel wonderful… the times we can laugh at ourselves…
      And it’s a lovely affirmation that we can use every day too. ‘I accept myself..’.
      Thank you again for leaving your thoughts Nikki and we are all in this together.
      Love,
      Di 💜💐

      Like

  4. Another wonderful post Di, thank you. I shall follow up and listen to your recommendation. I have found great value in your post about Dr Sarno which has been amazing! You have such a gift of melding gorgeous photographs with gorgeous words that touch our hearts. I am so happy that you have found your natural calling. Self-acceptance and simply doing what lights us up is our gift to the world….absolutely love your words here. Thanks Di ⭐️💫💜💜💜🙏🌹xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello dear Carol,
      It’s utter music to my ears to think you found value in Dr Sarno’s link… it’s all I could ask for in beginning this blog. Thank you so much for sharing that with me.
      As for your beautiful and encouraging words… I’m not sure what I can say except a truly heartfelt ‘thank you’. You have made my day.
      I’m so grateful to you as a person who inspired me to dip my toes in the writing ‘water’ so to speak.
      Much love and a hug to you Carol…🙏🏼💕💕

      Like

  5. Di, I so am touched by your post!!!!, Good for you for following your heart. You sharing your gifts is truly a gift to me personally and I’m sure to our blogging community. 💜💜💜💜 I encourage you to keep going, and know that the love and Light of your heart will guide you every step of the way. Blessings and thank you again, Di. – Debbie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Debbie,
      Thank you firstly for taking the time to read my post. I totally understand that there is so much we’d love to read and so little time… so I truly appreciate it.
      I’m touched by your kind words here too, as you know they will mean so much to me. I’m hopefully here to stay for as long as I have something to share….
      Thank you again sincerely, lovely Debbie…✨💕💕🙏🏼

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You got it, Di! And I just saw Miriam’s post about your meeting. So beautiful, Di. You are beautiful, and I love that photo of you two!! 💜💓 Blessings and have a great week. You brightened my night. Debbie

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Oh that’s wonderful dear Debbie. Thank you for letting me know you read Miriam’s post.
        Yes, we chatted like we’d known each other forever… she is as beautiful in person as she appears through her written words. It was a very special morning for me. Proof that gorgeous connections can be fostered through the written word and kindred spirits…
        Hugs to you my friend and thank you again for your lovely reply 🙏🏼💐💕💕

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Such an interesting post Di. I really enjoyed listening to the interview and the circa system. Lots of food for thought and so heartening to hear that science is understanding ancient truths.
    I also enjoyed Miriam’ s post on your joyful get together. It was lovely to see you guys in the photograph.
    Wishing you a wonderful week. 🤗

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello dear Brigid,
      Such lovely affirming comments from you. Thank you so much. I’m so happy that you had a listen to the interview and also enjoyed the science to back the ancient truths. Thank you too for your kind words on Miriam and I meeting. She is as gorgeous in person as she is with her words. We had a wonderful few hours.
      Wishing you a wonderful week too Brigid 🙋🏻💕

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Hello darling Di, I was just trying to erase some of my 12,000 odd emails, when I came across your blog….beautifully presented and beautiful photographs Di. I also think it is a very important topic you wrote about. I think so many
    people get confused about their own self worth because they hear so many conflicting opinions from so many people, they really don’t know what the truth is anymore. Happily, I seem to have reached a point in my life where I can listen to everyone’s opinions, but then
    reach my own conclusion. Luckily, as I hope to impart this acceptance of myself, onto helping anyone I know, who needs a bit of support and encouragement to 100% believe in themselves. Lovely Blog darling Di. Thank you so much for being you…..❤️💕❤️💕❤️💕❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello beautiful Maggie, and thank you so much for reading this post and making such a generous contribution. To have reached that point is something very gratifying I’m sure, as you choose to follow what makes you ultimately happy.
      Those conflicting opinions can really be disheartening for sensitive souls and hopefully this journey for me brings more resolute positive self talk.
      Thank you again for such warm and encouraging words. Your support is priceless my friend 💐💕💕

      Like

    1. Hello Michnavs,
      That’s so lovely of you to stop by my blog and leave your kind words. Thank you so much.
      And Miriam is so generous… I’m touched you found your way here from her post…🙏🏼💐💕

      Liked by 1 person

  8. So many lovely comments here so I will just keep it simple and brief. Another wonderfully insightful post to read. You’re really blossoming here on this blog, Di. Much love to you. 💜💜💜

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Kim,
      Thank you so much for your wonderful words. Your warm compliment about my blog also means so much….
      Very grateful for your support here always 🙏🏼
      Sending love in return Kim 💕

      Like

  9. Beautifully written, Di. Follow your heart. Do what you feel you need to do. Do what you are passionate about. I love the photography. A picture really is worth a thousand words. When I post (next week) photos of children greeting a returning soldier from Afghanistan, no words are needed. You are sharing the light. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Jennie,
      Thank you so much for reading my post and leaving your beautiful and encouraging words. They mean a lot.
      Yes, I’m seeing where this may lead and I’m quite excited. I actually had a very vivid dream last week about a children’s book about this topic and I’m wondering about the message contained within!!
      I’m a little behind with reading your posts but next week I should be able to catch up if not on Sunday.
      Thank you again and I look forward to seeing your images that will speak a tbousand words…very inspirational.
      Wishing you a lovely weekend ✨💐

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Beautiful post Di. I felt as though you were talking to me through this post. I have to tell you that just before I read this I stumbled upon a blog quite by chance and found a podcast on Magic Lessons with Elizabeth Gilbert. I feel as though it was all synchronised! How fantastic, to hear that after you’d spoken of it today. Such a lovely meeting today and reading this post brought it all back. There is absolutely no doubt that you’re adding value to the world with this new journey you’re on and I’m so excited and grateful to be part of it with you. Loved this post and I’m commenting on my laptop so no emojis however know that if I could I’d put one hundred love hearts here! xo P.S I opened up to my sister about my blog tonight and I feel so happy about it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello lovely friend,
      Thank you so much for your wonderfully supportive comments on this post. Yes, you kind of knew about it all before you read it… better from the source personally isn’t it? 🙂
      That’s amazing you’d come across that podcast! I have that downloaded and I can tell you, you’ll love it. It’s simply meant to be….🌈
      Oh, I’ve been on a high since I returned home I can tell you! Such a beautiful day thank you so much.
      That’s wonderful to read you opened up to your sister. I think I’ll be next…. it’s time. I’m sure it felt right and good to bring it out into the open.
      Thank you for your hundred hearts… I can just see them pictured here… they look so pretty😍
      Thank you again dear Miriam, for everything 🙏🏼💕

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It certainly was a beautiful day Di, thank you so much. 💕 And opening up to my sister felt right too. I know she’ll never truly understand but that’s okay.
        Have a wonderful weekend my lovely friend. xo 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That’s wonderful dear Miriam. We are having a family lunch today and I think I know what I’ll bring up today…. can’t wait. You and the blog. To know meaningful friendships come from connections through words gives me such confidence to stop hiding the fact. If your ears are burning today, it’s all good, my friend.
        Enjoy your weekend too. Holding another hug until next time…💜💐

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Oh, that’s absolutely wonderful. Talk away my dear friend, our meeting was so very special and I couldn’t agree more, no more hiding, for either of us. Our words and blogs are very powerful. Enjoy and have a lovely lunch. Big hug to you … 💜🌹

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Shall I reply🤔🤔
        Can’t resist…
        Thank you, such wonderful affirming words my lovely friend.
        🙋🏻👩‍❤️‍👩

        Like

  11. Dear Di,
    You reminded me of a play out of this.
    As a kid, we used to play a simple game. We would take a very thin stick and break it in small pieces and keep them jumbled up at one place.
    The other person with the help of another stick is required to remove one stick from that heap of sticks one after the other, without disturbing other sticks( otherwise he loses)
    It required good focus, lot of silence and very keen observation of the subject and mind. More the awareness of how things are unfolding better the player performs.
    It’s was a simple game, but very clear and belief in the communication one has before making the next move was the key to perform well.

    Your post of today made me realize how important is to have belief in the communication one should have with the self. (i.e Self-acceptance)
    Often we disbelief this, as we look direction from outside to imitate. A clear communication at the very subtle level with oneself and an acceptance of it …is like nothing more fun than this :).
    Today’s message in the post is subtle in feel, it disappears in mind just to manifest itself again in self-belief.
    Thanks for making such wonderful contribution,
    Love & Care

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello dear ArtOfMobile,
      Another little smile from me when I heard the alert ping and saw your name… I took my phone off charge with my usual anticipation of your thoughts and sat down to read…
      Thank you for taking the time to ponder my message and to respond so deeply.
      I know the game of which you mention. You have made me think of how much focus it took and how difficult it was, as you suggested, to move as an independent ‘stick’ without affecting the others around it….

      I appreciate and admire your reaction to the self acceptance theme, my friend. I agree, once you are in tune with your inner world, there is some fun and new awareness to be had if you listen well.
      I’m happy to know you think it’s a subtle message, as I prefer that style. Thank you so much again for your kind support and for always taking the time to think about this theme.
      Sending love and care in return 💐💕

      Like

      1. Thanks Di, You have always been supportive of me writing anything. This space is like a freedom for me to express and you have been an amazing support. I get valuable insights in this blog.
        Love !.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’m thrilled, my friend. Explore and experiment to your heart’s content. You know you are a huge support to me, so to return the kindness means so much…. thank you 🙏🏼🌟💕

        Like

      1. Hello dear Rima,
        What a wonderful surprise to see your name here. Thank you so much for reading my post and leaving your kind words… they mean a lot 💐💕

        Like

    1. Hello Sariska, I do believe you may be after Gabriel’s blog about his trip to Venice. You may like to comment again for him to see your lovely comment 💐💐

      Like

    1. Hello Brad,
      That’s a lovely comment so thank you so much. I really appreciate hearing from you.
      Yes, it seems like it’s a journey for many of us. I hope this post may give you an extra little piece of permission to find the goodness in you.
      You have been very kind to me… thank you again Brad and sending hugs and blessings to you too 💐🌟

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

