Meaningful connections…

 

Brigid…

 

IMG_2062
Brigid’s lovely book

 

“There’s not yet a word for old friends who’ve just met.” Jim Henson

 

Hello and welcome,

This post is has been brewing since I began my blogging journey not that long ago…

It was within a very short time I realised the wonderful world I was entering…an amazingly welcoming platform, but one in which spreading the goodness through sharing each other’s blogs, and creating a giving community, reigns supreme.

Thank you to you all who have shown me the beautiful etiquette of this new world.
So in this true spirit, I’d like to share two new blogging friends, with very different reasons for our connection…

Firstly, many of you may know of Brigid from watchingthedaisies

I came across Brigid’s book, ‘Watching the Daisies’, pictured above, from following her lovely blog, where I discovered Brigid suffered from Fibromyalgia. She articulated her quest for holistic methods to manage her condition, and had written about it in her memoir.

Having a have a keen appreciation for alternative therapy, the idea of her book appealed to me greatly.
What I didn’t expect, was to grow so close to Brigid and her utterly fascinating life-story. I read a little every evening, tucked cosily into bed with the lamp on, ready to become part of Brigid’s amazing world…

When it was time to settle down, I felt a flutter of disappointment in the ‘sandman’, who  was calling me to yet another other adventure… sleep.

Brigid’s book is so much more than a quest for a cure…

It taught me a huge lesson… it’s not necessary to have prior knowledge of someone before becoming totally absorbed in their life.

Learning from others who discover and maintain their appreciation and zest for life, living large, despite experiencing the greatest of challenges, is truly uplifting and inspiring. (This is a theme I’m exploring in coming posts..)
I’d thoroughly recommend this book to anyone who loves spirituality, alternative healing modalities, travel, nature, overcoming difficulties, learning how to be your best self and the love of family. Basically life in general.

Thank you for a wonderful look inside your life, Brigid. 

(Brigid’s blog has an easy to find ‘Book’ link included in her menu).

 

Miriam…

 

IMG_2060
Beautiful Miriam

 

“Friendship is born at that moment when one person says to another: What! You too. I thought I was the only one.” C.S. Lewis.

 

Here is where my second blogging-sphere encounter enters the scene…

I’d love you to meet Miriam, with whom I’m certain many of you will be very familiar.

She has a gorgeous, award nominated blog called Out an’ About – Loving Life On and Off the Tracks

She is another Melbourne blogger, where for a while, we tiptoed around planning a catch up face to face…

With each post’s comments, we edged ever closer to… ‘yes, I’d really like to meet. Let’s make a time…’

Finally we did…

on Friday, for a catch up over a coffee.

The thoughts were going through my head…’I hope she knows what I look like, and will I recognise her?’
Funny enough, I wasn’t at all nervous, but more honoured and excited to meet this published author and very highly praised blogger. Intuition reassured me we would have plenty to share and discover about each other.
My heart was put at ease as Miriam breezed through the door… we instantly found  each other, hugged and began to talk…

…and we talked some more.
Coffee became lunch…

What was the second most valuable realisation from our time together?

Written Words can foster real bonds between people. 

Written Words really can convey the spirit of someone, the essence of their heart.

Written words possess a great power.

And the most valuable realisation?

           I met the most beautiful soul, who is just as warm, genuine and giving as she radiates through her written words. It was such a pleasure to meet you, Miriam.

So if you have someone you connect with on social media, I’d say just go for it, reach out, if it’s at all possible to meet in person one day…
Social media certainly has a place and can be the gateway for meaningful connections.
Life’s too short and precious to put these things off: It may be the blooming of another wonderful friendship…and that’s where the magic happens.

 There is room for everyone: Those friends who have been part of our        lives forever, those we just met, and those we will meet in future…

 

IMG_2067
Image by Di

Much love, and thank you for reading…

Di 💕

 

51 thoughts on “Meaningful connections…

    1. Hello Eli,
      Thank you so much for reading my post and leaving your kind words. Miriam is certainly a very popular and well loved blogger. She will be thrilled to know you think so highly of her.
      Thank you for sharing your positive experience with meeting other bloggers too… I’m glad it went well for you 💐🌟

      Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s so lovely of you Nikki. Thank you and I’m really glad to give you the warm fuzzy feeling… it’s a lovely one…
      💕🙋🏻

      Like

  1. This is so beautiful and you speak from my heart. I have so far not met any of my blogger friends in the real world but I have a couple I really want to meet in person. Miriam is one of them. Loved the quotes you chose! Beautiful!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I’m so happy you enjoyed this post and the quotes and hope this is a good incentive that it can be a wonderful occasion.
      I appreciate you reading, thank you amommasview 💐💕

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Brigid and Miriam rock! When I first began blogging seriously, Miriam led by example. I saw through her blog the joy of building a blogging community. I’m so grateful for this insight.
    And while I haven’t had the chance to read Brigid’s book yet (it’s in the cue), I am already a big fan of her blog.
    And you of course Di… you have a way of putting a sappy smile on my face more often than i can count. Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello dear Gabe,
      This is such a lovely response to my post… I’m sure Miriam and Brigid will be honoured by your warm thoughts about them and their blogs. I know you will enjoy Brigid’s book when you cut through the pile awaiting your attention. I understand what that’s like…
      As for whatever I may say or write that puts a sappy smile on your face, my little mate…. I couldn’t wish for more….
      Thank you so much for your kind words here.
      Hugs to you and Monica 🙋🏻💐

      Liked by 1 person

  3. You are a wonderful giving person, Di! Your post inspired me to put a little more thought into traveling to Australia because I most certainly would love to sit down and have coffee/lunch/dinner with you. Before I began blogging, I didn’t understand how you could really connect with someone online, but now I totally get it. I feel so blessed to have found so many wonderful people in the blogosphere who continually inspire and encourage me. You are one of those people, and I am so thankful I found you. So wonderful that you and Miriam had a chance to meet and spend the afternoon together!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello dear Tanya,
      Thank you so much for your beautiful contribution to this post.
      I know…. I wouldn’t have believed it either, but the force behind such warm comments really is special… I just know you will be one of those people too when you visit here. I shall be looking forward to it very much.
      You inspire me! Isn’t it an awesome community to be able to reach out and have this impact on each other?
      Sending a hug and my best wishes to you 🙋🏻💕💐

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I so love your generosity of heart and spirit Di 💜🌹Brigid’s book sounds inspiring and I will definitely follow up and get a copy. I love the purity of the cover…I love daisies, they bring back memories of hours spent in childhood making Daisy chains 😄. It’s wonderful that you have made a new friend in Miriam too…I think relationships made through social media are messengers and miracles sent by the universe 😍and not something that happen everyday to many people. A gorgeous share Di, thank you 🙏🌟🌹

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Hello dear Carol,
      Thank you sincerely for such a generous and kind contribution to this post.
      I know you will enjoy Brigid’s book and yes, I also loved making daisy chains, carried off in my own thoughts…
      Thank you for your words about Miriam. I love your outlook on relationships through social media… they count and this is what I really wanted to highlight, as it often receives negativity.
      I’m so touched you enjoyed this post my friend.
      Thank you again for your kindness Carol 🙏🏼🦋💕

      Like

    2. What a beautiful comment Carol. I love what you said “I think relationships made through social media are messengers and miracles sent by the universe”. I so agree and its something we never would have dreamed about years ago. 💖

      Liked by 2 people

  5. Great post, Di. Connections can come about in so many different and unexpected ways, can’t they? It’s heartening to learn that you’ve discovered a welcoming and encouraging environment in this blogosphere. What a wonderful way to spread kindness, love, understanding and all the things. Hopefully its ripple effect will spread far and wide. I also enjoyed Brigid’s book: what a strong and determined woman!
    😘💜

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hello Kim,
      Thank you for reading this post and leaving your kind thoughts about connections and blogging in general.
      Yes, to keep our minds and hearts open to new people and experiences is a gift we can offer ourselves and others.
      I’m so glad you enjoyed Brigid’s book too. She would be thrilled to know. Very kind of you.
      Wishing you a wonderful day 💕💐

      Like

    1. Hello dear Brigid,
      I was looking forward to giving you this little surprise after I’d read your book.
      I’m touched you feel blessed and special. Thank you for your lovely comments 💐💕💕

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hello dear Brigid,
        That’s really touching of you but I didn’t do it for anything in return at all… I just know how I would feel if I had a new book out and I was honoured to give your book some due attention..
        Perhaps you can save it until I write something of my own one day… it’s part of my dream too.
        Hugs and love me 💜🦋💜

        Liked by 1 person

    2. Hello Brigid,
      I don’t want you to think I’d not read your latest posts… I commented but scrolling through them now they appear not to be there. They may have ended up in Spam. I thought this was the best method of letting you know in case the same thing occurs over under your posts…
      Hope you enjoy your summer weekend….
      🌝💕

      Liked by 1 person

  6. What an absolutely heartwarming post Di. Such kind words which are very much reciprocated. You know how much I enjoyed meeting you, it was such a natural connection. Thank you my lovely new friend, the power of words is indeed a strong bond. 💖 And lovely Brigid, another very special connection. She’s so inspiring and her memoir is so captivating I agree. Thank you for writing such a beautiful post and I look forward to our continuing friendship and next catch up. Big hugs and love from me. 💕🌷

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hello my dear Miriam…
      I’m so glad you enjoyed this post about our catch up. Thank you for your kindest of responses.
      And I’m sure dear Brigid will really appreciate your words about her blog and book.
      I look forward to continuing our new friendship too…
      Much love and hugs from me to you 💐💕

      Like

    1. That’s really kind of you Kate. Thank you for having a look at Brigid’s blog. And yes, dear Miriam certainly has kind and loyal followers 🙏🏼🙋🏻

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Its great that you introduce me to another wonderful blogger, Bridgid
    ..Mirriam on the other hand has been on my circle for quite a while and her travels and adventures and the lessons alongside it are really helpful..

    Liked by 4 people

    1. Hello michnavs,
      Thank you so much for reading this post and leaving your kind thoughts.
      I’m thrilled to have introduced you to a new blogger, Brigid. And I’m so happy that you know Miriam already and enjoy her posts so much. She will love to see this.
      Thanks again,
      Di 🙋🏻💐

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you so much. I appreciate your lovely support. I’m a bit behind this week myself but will catch up soon… have a lovely day 🙋🏻💕

        Like

  8. Beautiful post about friendship. And with two of my favourite blogging people too. And if I am not mistaken, Miriam is standing in the wonderful garden centre bridge to the cafe Warran Glen, where I go lunching often.

    Liked by 4 people

    1. Hello Barbara,
      Thank you for being the first to comment. And such a beautiful one as well. I really appreciate it and yes, I think Miriam and Brigid are followed and loved by many many people.
      Yes, you are absolutely correct… we met there and it’s a gorgeous place. Fancy you visiting this cafe often! Wishing you a lovely afternoon 💐✨

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

