Time…

IMG_1559

When you are courting a nice girl, an hour seems like a second. When you sit on a red-hot cinder, a second seems like an hour.” Albert Einstein.

Time is Nikki’s weekly creative prompt at FlyingThroughWater and one that has intrigued me for a long time too.

Jim Croce sang in his beautiful song ‘Time in a Bottle’

‘There never seems to be enough time,
to do the things you want to do,
once you find them.’

And also from that song…

‘If I could save time in a bottle,
The first thing I’d like to do
Is to save every day ‘til eternity passes away
Just to spend them with you.’

Chicago sang about it in a song titled ‘Does anybody really know what time it is?’

Pink Floyd, Cyndi Lauper and so many other famous artists have sung about time. There is a wonderful post by UpVenue by someone who has wondered the very same thing. They have included video clips of their choice of some of the most beautiful songs written about time…

There is a bible verse in Ecclesiastes 3:1 ‘There is a time for everything.’
It has been made into another beautiful song. I’ve included the link as sung by The Byrds.

This concept has intrigued us most probably, since the beginning of time…
There are movies such as ‘Back to the Future’, ‘Midnight in Paris’, ‘Groundhog Day’, ‘Terminator’, and television series such as ‘Doctor Who’ inspire us to challenge the notion that time is a liner experience. Einstein himself proffered the thought that ‘the dividing line between past, present and future is an illusion.’

It appears as if it has captured our imagination…

We all experience ‘time flying when we are having fun’, and ‘time dragging’ when we wish it would be the end of something we don’t particularly enjoy doing.

And so, it’s come to the time to share some exciting news with you

There is a time to dream…
There is a time to imagine…
There is a time to create reality…

A dream I have held close to my heart…
The desire to meet the world, when that little girl was peering through the airport glass wishing she could fly off to far away lands.
The dream to expand my horizons, to challenge my comfort zone, to leave the known for a while and immerse myself in someone else’s world..
is coming true.

It’s time… my childhood dream of living in London and becoming part of life there is now reality. For some reason it’s called both of us for much of our life…my husband and I are making the most of the opportunity of transferring to London with the company he is with here in Melbourne. So come September, my blog may perhaps have a different flavour about it.
I also just wanted to let you know in case I’m not keeping up with all your wonderful posts as often as I’d like to…

Is it because the time is right at this moment in life?
Is it because it was time to stop dreaming and start to truly imagine it?
Is it because it was time to relinquish my fear of making this dream come true?

Many times we hear that things aren’t as fun in reality as they are in our minds and dreams…

But at what cost should be forego pursuing them in order to maintain the wonder?

Some things just may be worth fighting for so we don’t reach the end of our life with that one niggling regret…

IMG_2558

Thank you for being here,

Much love,

Di ♥️

53 thoughts on “Time…

  1. I’m excited for you and your husband! What an adventure!

    Time as a concept gives me pause. (Oh no, that’s a pun isn’t it?) But it does. I agree with Einstein–as if he needed my concurrence–it’s entirely imaginary. When I have ten seconds to rest before I start working out again, and ten seconds to go before I get to rest again, I desperately want to convince myself that one set of ten is more than the other. But, of course, it’s not. Everything born must die. Everyone, or thing, alive or in existence today will die or end. Instead of seeing that as a bad thing, I want to see it as a good thing. The end point reminds me to take the chances as they appear. To experience the whole of what the world has to offer knowing I’ll not escape the inevitable, that’s the gift of time. So, let’s laugh about it instead. Let’s go to London. Let’s write a new book. Let’s dance.

    Can’t wait to read about your adventures. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Angela,
      Firstly, thank you so much for stopping by to read my post.
      Secondly, I really appreciate your lovely thoughts on the topic of Time.
      Very special and profound thoughts. I love your idea of almost working backwards…that knowing it is all going to end one day, we can find the richness of life here and now. We just have to be willing to seek, stay open, allow and then the biggie…to say YES. Thank you for your inspiring words ‘let’s go to London. Let’s write a new book. Let’s dance…’. Beautiful. Thank you again, and finally, also for your well wishes on our big move.
      💜 Di

      Liked by 1 person

  2. That Jim Crocce song is one of my all time favorites, it always tugs at my heart strings. The whole concept of time fascinates me. Making the most of every day, embracing life and not wasting a precious day we’re given is what it’s all about. And you’re living it my friend. I’m so so happy for you and your husband, what a wonderful opportunity and adventure awaits you both. Look forward to staying in touch as you continue on your amazing journey. And look forward to another meeting before you go and giving you a big hug in person. xo 💕😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Miriam…
      Thank you so dearly for the kind appreciation of this post.
      Not to mention your warm best wishes on our big move.
      We both seem to be making the most of life at the moment don’t we!
      Yes, we will stay in touch so easily through social media and I’ll hold you to that hug before we leave….thank you again for such a lovely reply 🌹💕

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Lisa,
      Yes…It’s still sounding so unreal right now!
      But I thank you for your lovely words and for reading my post.
      I’ll happily share more when we are there…
      💕💐

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Rima!
      I found your lovely comment and I just want to say thank you so much for stopping by to read my blog post and then respond. It means a lot 💐💕

      Like

  3. OH MY GOD!!!!!!! Di I am so happy for you, and also for your husband. Sending you love and Light on your journey. By the way, I know some beautiful people in London. If you’re interested in connecting with them, you can just let me know. (They are quite spiritual and full of caring)

    Have a wonderful weekend. You made my day with your news. Beautiful YOU.
    Love and Blessings,
    Debbie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello lovely Debbie…
      That’s so kind and very generous of you to be so happy for us. I’ll pass your warm wishes to Tony as well…🙏🏼
      As for your kind offer, it certainly helps to have some one I can connect with, so I’d love to learn about them and if they run groups or workshops. Then I can go from there. That’s a really kind and wonderful offer but knowing you, I’m not really surprised you would offer…
      Thank you again for your best wishes and love…
      Enjoy your day too Debbie. Hugs and love from me 🙋🏻💜

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Di, happy doesn’t even begin to describe what I am feeling right now. Your move is so exciting to me, I can’t even imagine how you both feel knowing your dreams are about to come true. I can’t believe you are moving to London!!!! 🎉🇬🇧 Sounds like we will be going for tea and a crumpet in jolly ole England sometime soon!! And don’t you worry about being away for a while, we will all be here when you have time to get back to your blog. I really can’t wait to hear all about your new adventure and see all the photos! Congratulations to you both! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello dear Tanya…
      What a beautiful response from you. Thank you doesn’t seem enough. To be so happy for some one else when you are experiencing the challenges you have written about in your last couple of posts says so much about your character. And the fact that you can be so happy for others’ joy tells me that something wonderful is going to come your way. It’s called ’empathetic joy’ where we can truly be happy as if it’s our own…I believe the universe works in our favour that way…✨✨
      You bet, we will be sharing a cuppa☕️☕️ and something sweet as soon as we can make it happen…
      Thank you so much from both of us.

      Thank you for your warm support about my blog too… it means a lot to know you’ll still be here…

      Hugs and love from me 🙋🏻💕💕

      Liked by 1 person

      1. What a kind thing to say, Di. Thank you. But, I can’t even imagine for a second not being ecstatic for you guys. Nothing excites me more than to see people make their dreams come true, especially those I care so much about. And if there weren’t people out there making their dreams become a reality, how would the rest of us even know what is possible? Thanks for leading the way! xo

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh I really meant it too, dear Tanya.

        And I couldn’t agree more about you saying that we can make our dreams come true from watching others… I think I have enjoyed watching many and knew it was possible from them.
        So I hope to be able to pay it forward now. Thank you for the lovely concept 💜🌹

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello dear Brigid,
      Thank you so much for your lovely contribution to this post and your kind wishes.
      I love the way you have described healing through time. It’s so true when I look upon my healing journey… thank you.
      And I’ll pass on to Tony your lovely blessings… received very gratefully 🙏🏼💕

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh Di – I wish you and hubby the best of luck on your new adventures! I am from Manchester in England and lived in Oxford for three years – I know you will love exploring new horizons! I would love a catch up with you and Miriam before you leave (if you’re not to busy of course, I know how crazy emigrating is!) – maybe in August when I return from Sydney? ❤ xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello dear Hayley….
      I couldn’t wait for you to see the news… I was going to tell you if you didn’t see it here!
      Yes, we will certainly explore those wonderful cities. Thank you for your lovely positive feedback from someone who knows it very well.
      I’d adore to meet up. Yes, things are busy but there will be time for you and Miriam…I’ll make sure of it 🙋🏻💜

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Cyranny,
      That’s so kind of you to visit my post from Nikki’s blog.
      Thank you, as well as for your amazing comments. Yes, we are very excited. I see from your About that you love Denmark… I can’t believe I’ll be living so close to your country. One I’ve been called to visit since I was little. Now an Australian is a Princess there too.
      Anyway… I’m a bit eager so I’ll let you go. Just know it was lovely to have you visit,
      Di 🙋🏻💐💐

      Like

  6. Beautiful, Di ❤ Best wishes with the move. I've moved many times and know that it is exciting and scary, fun and hard, exhausting and refreshing all at the same time! Sending you peaceful thoughts for the transition. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Betsy,
      Thank you so much for your kind words and support in this news. We’ve never left Melbourne for more than four weeks so this is special for us. I’m welcoming your thoughts about your moves. I’ll keep them in mind when I have days where I may wonder what we’ve done…
      So many people have made a move to live somewhere else for a while…
      The world is a big place ready to explore….
      I really appreciate your lovely comments 🙋🏻💜

      Like

    1. Thank you so much Nikki… I appreciate you being so happy for the news.
      And you never know what’s around the corner for your dreams too… proof they come true, Nikki. Hold on to them…🙋🏻💜

      Like

    1. Hello Gabe,
      And yes it is soon and very exciting. So much to see and immerse into…
      Thank you for your wonderful support…It means a lot 🙏🏼💐

      Like

  7. Yes, yes, yes! Living the dream and living with no regrets. And if a dream doesn’t turn out to be as you imagined it would be, you have lost nothing and gained much. 💜👏

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hello Kim,
      Thank you for reading my post and for such supportive words about following a dream.
      You are so right.

      Thank you, thank you🙏🏼💕

      Like

    1. Hello Brad,
      That’s so lovely…
      Thank you very much. I appreciate every sentiment you wrote and I’m so happy it may have offered you a little reminder to keep those precious dreams alive. I like to think we have them for very good reasons.
      Take care, and sending one of those hugs,
      Di 💐✨✨

      Like

Leave a Reply

